Honey Curried Roasted Chicken and Vegetables Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
This is my first ever review of a recipe...had to do this one though! The only changes I made were 1) I added a lightly sauteed onion to the veggies and 2) I cooked the veggies separate from the chicken (did not boil the veggies, baked instead) until the last 20 minutes of cooking, when adding the sauce! I gave 1 star per person who gave a thumbs up! My family devoured this! My fiancee' was the one who said I should rate this recipe, called it a definite keeper! Amazingly, out of 3 kids not a single complaint! Oh, after I drained the drippings from the chicken I separated the fat from the broth and used the broth (plus a little chicken base and water) to make rice! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suz4short

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2008
LOVED IT!!!! i used chicken quarters and roasted them skin side down for 20 mins (as suggested by another reviewer) while the veggies (baby carrots and yukon gold potatoes) were steaming then put them in the pan, drizzled the sauce over all then cooked an additional 35-40 min. i also doubled the sauce, however it was a bit too much so next time i try this i will try it with just the original amount. i think i'll also try throwing it all in the crockpot like others have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
This was absolutely delicious. I used chicken breasts and simply put the veggies in the oven with the chicken and sauce for about an hour and fifteen minutes. Perfection! My husband said that it even made his carrots tasty, which is saying something since he generally hates them! Apples would be wonderful in this (as stated in the recipe) and I might also add some peas to the leftovers (if there are any).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalnems

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arlington, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I did this in my crockpot with a 5+lb chicken. I cooked it too long but it was still wonderful. I added a little chicken broth but won't next time. I ended up with a chicken stew. The flavor was great I just over cooked it. I can hardly wait to do it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Excellent!! Thanks for the great recipe. I used boneless skinless chicken breasts and it was outstanding. I also reduced the honey a bit and added some vegetable broth for consistancy. Loved the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
Wow! My Mom is not a cook but she made this dish twice while staying with our family after my son was born and this recipe was a keeper for sure. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAINTNMYNAILS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I doubled the sauce and put half the sauce over a 7 lb chicken in a slow cooker all day and the other half over cut up potatoes, carrots, portobello mushrooms and onions in the refrigerator to marinate all day. I cooked the veggies at 400 for an hour, roasted some asparagus in the last 12 minutes of that and we had a great meal. The chicken was falling off the bone after 8 hours in the slow cooker. Oh, I only used 2 T butter in the doubled sauce recipe. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
These flavors are awesome! My changes are as follows: increase oven temperature from 350 degrees to 375 degrees F, drain all but 2 tbsp. of drippings from pan before adding the honey-curry mixture, making a little more sauce to cover all the vegetables, and increasing total cook time (4 lb bird takes 2 hours). Next time, I will flip bird over so the breasts are on top and throw a root vegetable or citrus fruit in the cavity of chicken to moisten the meat. Rave reviews from this household! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tanaquil
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
This recipe gave me lots of trouble. I am not sure if anyone has noticed, but the amount of cayenne pepper listed in the recipe is not in the ingredient list. I went ahead and added 1/4 tsp. Maybe the red pepper flakes and the cayenne pepper were meant to be one and the same? Anyway, that is just one complaint that I had with this...the other being that it took alot longer to cook than stated. The flavors were very good together, kind of a spicy sweetness. My husband didn't really like it and only ate a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Really did not go over well. Too strong of a curry taste, I'm afraid, for this family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksSC13

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States