Honey Crystal Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
These turned out yummy! I followed the advice of a previous reviewers who suggested you leave the nuts in the syrup a minute or two longer and not bother with the slotted spoon; just dump the whole batch of nuts onto the parchment paper lined baking sheet. Cool slightly, separate the nuts a bit and put them into a plastic ziploc bag containing the 1 cup of turbinado sugar, 1 tsp sea salt, 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1/4 tsp cayenne. Of course you can adjust the amounts to taste depending on the sweet-salty-spicy ratio you prefer. Shake them up well to coat and pour them onto a fresh piece of parchment on the baking sheet. Separate any clumps and let cool. Quick, easy and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Loved these almonds. I decreased the temperature to 325 and roasted the almonds a few minutes longer. I also used twice as much almonds (4 cups) to the same amount of honey because I noticed there was a lot of honey left over. It worked great. I also added cinnamon and 1/4 teas clove. kicked it up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
After buying honey cinnamon almonds at a street faire, I decided I wanted to try & make my own. I found this recipe to be the closest to the ones I bought & they turned out great. My husband says he even liked these better! The only changes I made was to use 3 C almonds rather than 2 & I added about 1 T cinnamon to the sugar. Perfect for snacking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I bought some premium nut mix at a large wholesale club. It was unsalted. So I used this to spruce it up. Easy to make, however I would caution that instead of using a slotted spoon to fish out the nuts, dump the whole thing on the parchment, then while after cooling slightly but still warm dump it in the plastic bag with the sugar, then back to the cookie sheet lines with fresh parchment. That way you can break up any big clumps and sprinkle it lightly with sea salt while it cools. That makes it 5 stars and easier to make as you are not fishing around for the nuts that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Used a vegan shortening for the butter and splenda mixed with 3 packets of truvia sweetener & sea salt for coating. I left half the batch of almonds in the honey mixture for an additional 3-4 minutes, and they turned out so much better than the first half. Following the review, I dumped the mixture onto parchment, slightly cooled, and then tossed with the sugar mixture. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
These are amazing. They are easy to make, and I added some cinnamon to the sugar to make them more delicious! I gave them to all my co-workers at our annual Christmas party, packaged in small holiday gift bags, and one person said they tasted like the ones from the mall. I've already made 2 batches in one week and two more tonight for Christmas. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I used pecans for this and they came out absolutely FANTASTIC! I measured out 2 cups and the amount of honey mixture was almost perfect. I only had a little bit left over since pecans are bigger than almonds. I didn't roast the nuts, though, but I will next time. My pecans ended up slightly soggy. Maybe I just didn't give them enough time to cool down before I tossed them in the sugar. Oh well. They were still addicting and I will definitely make them again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdc143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My son is wheat, dairy, and soy-free, so finding delicious recipes that provide him nutrients can be challenging. He won't eat almonds plain, so I thought I would give this a try... and he LOVED them!!! I substituted Spectrum vegetable shortening to replace the butter. I also added a touch of course salt to the sugar and spice mix. Other than that I followed the recipe to the tee, and it was amazing! My whole family devoured them. I will definitely be making these often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
It's a pretty good recipe. Easily able to modify. I would cut the honey mixture down by 30% though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
These taste great! I did use almost 4 cups of almonds because there was a lot of honey. You really need to work fast with this recipe. When I first did it, the honey dried on the nuts before I had a chance to coat them because I had so much to do. Now I just cut the recipe in half so the honey doesn't dry before I have a chance to coat them all with sugar. The Parchment paper and ziploc bag idea work GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States