Honey Crystal Almonds Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I bought some premium nut mix at a large wholesale club. It was unsalted. So I used this to spruce it up. Easy to make, however I would caution that instead of using a slotted spoon to fish out the nuts, dump the whole thing on the parchment, then while after cooling slightly but still warm dump it in the plastic bag with the sugar, then back to the cookie sheet lines with fresh parchment. That way you can break up any big clumps and sprinkle it lightly with sea salt while it cools. That makes it 5 stars and easier to make as you are not fishing around for the nuts that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Placerville, California, USA
Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
Loved these almonds. I decreased the temperature to 325 and roasted the almonds a few minutes longer. I also used twice as much almonds (4 cups) to the same amount of honey because I noticed there was a lot of honey left over. It worked great. I also added cinnamon and 1/4 teas clove. kicked it up a notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
My son is wheat, dairy, and soy-free, so finding delicious recipes that provide him nutrients can be challenging. He won't eat almonds plain, so I thought I would give this a try... and he LOVED them!!! I substituted Spectrum vegetable shortening to replace the butter. I also added a touch of course salt to the sugar and spice mix. Other than that I followed the recipe to the tee, and it was amazing! My whole family devoured them. I will definitely be making these often in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gretchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atascadero, California, USA
Living In: Templeton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2009
yummy!Mild flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Used a vegan shortening for the butter and splenda mixed with 3 packets of truvia sweetener & sea salt for coating. I left half the batch of almonds in the honey mixture for an additional 3-4 minutes, and they turned out so much better than the first half. Following the review, I dumped the mixture onto parchment, slightly cooled, and then tossed with the sugar mixture. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2009
After buying honey cinnamon almonds at a street faire, I decided I wanted to try & make my own. I found this recipe to be the closest to the ones I bought & they turned out great. My husband says he even liked these better! The only changes I made was to use 3 C almonds rather than 2 & I added about 1 T cinnamon to the sugar. Perfect for snacking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
It's a pretty good recipe. Easily able to modify. I would cut the honey mixture down by 30% though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I used pecans for this and they came out absolutely FANTASTIC! I measured out 2 cups and the amount of honey mixture was almost perfect. I only had a little bit left over since pecans are bigger than almonds. I didn't roast the nuts, though, but I will next time. My pecans ended up slightly soggy. Maybe I just didn't give them enough time to cool down before I tossed them in the sugar. Oh well. They were still addicting and I will definitely make them again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kdc143

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
Amazing! My boyfriend won't stop asking me to make these again and again. All he wants in his Easter basket are these, and everyone at work went crazy over them. Thank you so much for this recipe! 2 Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessiLynne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I think what really made these was putting a bit of sea salt in with the turbinado sugar before shaking them in. That bit of saltiness really brings out the flavours. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Delectable Pork Chop Dinner

See how to make this sophisticated but surprisingly simple dinner.

Sweet and Spicy Roasted Almonds

Sugar, cinnamon, and chili powder give roasted almonds an addictive kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States