Honey Cranberry Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wonderful and refreshing. Using honey in lieu of white or brown sugar and no shortening or butter makes this a much healthy choice for a snack or breakfast bread. The tart cranberries and the not so sweet bread was delicious. Bread was not dry and has a light texture. This one will go in the recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I read all the reviews before making it and added ingredients to make it moister, because dryness was the main complaint. I cut the oats to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 mashed banana, 1/2 C of sour cream, 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg and 2 tsp. of flaxseed. I made 1 regular loaf and 3 mini's for gifts. I used thawed frozen cranberries and cut some of the bigger ones in half. Quite a few modifications, but the result was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I modified the recipe: I used 2 bananas 2/3 C veg oil 1 Cup of milk 3 eggs I also used dried cranberries It turned out moist unlike the previous reviews the only other thing to sweeten up I would increase the honey or add 1/4 c of sugar and go to a tsp of cinnamon. I like it the way I prepared. But for those who like a sweeter bread you will need to increase the amount of honey or sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Church Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I used only 1c of cranberries and sliced them prior to adding into the dough. I also used almond milk. The bread is too dry. But I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
After reading the reviews about this bread being too dry, I decided to add one small mashed banana. I scaled the recipe to one loaf. It still came out dry, too dense and it is not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great recipe for a healthy bread. What I did was double it, sub 3 cups wholewheat flour and 2 cups reg white for the 5C flour, cut the honey to 1 1/4, added 5T of ground flax and put it into 2 loaf pans and 1 med (normal sized) cupcake tin for muffins. I cooked the muffins for 30 min and the bread for 45. Both came out lovely, but muffins were a bit dry and needed butter. Overall, the bread was better and more moist. I will make both again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victor, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made this into muffins. Due to the other reviews remarking on dryness, I added about 3/4 cup of sour cream & they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My husband eats this for breakfast and snacks. I have added 1/4 cup flaxseed for more fiber and omega 3 and substituted the vegatable oil with no sugar added applesauce. I also used dried cranberries after I boiled the moisture back into them. All of my neighbors love it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Springfield, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
HEALTHY ALTERNATIVE!! I failed to read others comments and as I was preparing, I did notice how dry the dough was. However, I took a risk and tried not to add more oil. Knowing that the dough felt dry, I took it out of the oven WAY early then its suggested 40-45 minutes. Yes, it is dry but quite tasty. The cranberries was not that tart as some as suggested as I tend to love cranberry drinks or the tartest apple out there. My suggestion is you can doctor this up to make it "yummy" or you can doctor it up a little more to make it HEALTHY. Sometimes I enjoy eating the most unhealthy stuff but I also enjoy eating things that taste guiltfree as well. Try: Egg beaters instead of egg Soymilk instead of milk Wheat flour instead of white It ALREADY uses honey and NO sugar! I use local honey in my tea already so using this in my foods was a bonus!). I also love recipes that uses oats! Great recipe, will try again. As the author's note suggested, it is a "hearty" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
My family enjoyed this recipe. I put the cranberries in the chopper, so they would not be so tart. Also, I increased my oil and sugar, as recommended by others. I will be using this again. Loved the oatmeal in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Darien Center, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States