Honey Cranberry Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This bread was wonderful! It's so moist and flavorful! I added a hint of nutmeg for an added spice...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I read all the reviews before making it and added ingredients to make it moister, because dryness was the main complaint. I cut the oats to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 mashed banana, 1/2 C of sour cream, 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg and 2 tsp. of flaxseed. I made 1 regular loaf and 3 mini's for gifts. I used thawed frozen cranberries and cut some of the bigger ones in half. Quite a few modifications, but the result was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wonderful and refreshing. Using honey in lieu of white or brown sugar and no shortening or butter makes this a much healthy choice for a snack or breakfast bread. The tart cranberries and the not so sweet bread was delicious. Bread was not dry and has a light texture. This one will go in the recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My husband eats this for breakfast and snacks. I have added 1/4 cup flaxseed for more fiber and omega 3 and substituted the vegatable oil with no sugar added applesauce. I also used dried cranberries after I boiled the moisture back into them. All of my neighbors love it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparks55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This bread was excellent! I was searching for a recipe that didn't call for orange juice and this was a big hit! I substituted 1 cup whole wheat flour & sprinkled turbino sugar on top before baking. Accidentally left it in the oven a bit longer than intended, giving the bread a toasted essence. Made a cranberry relish w/the remaining 1 cup cranberries (cooked with 1/3 cup water & 1/3 cup sugar) until berries burst and thickened. Served with the warm bread as a compote/jam. The honey and oats were the perfect counterbalance to the tart & juicy cranberries. Definitely making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great recipe for a healthy bread. What I did was double it, sub 3 cups wholewheat flour and 2 cups reg white for the 5C flour, cut the honey to 1 1/4, added 5T of ground flax and put it into 2 loaf pans and 1 med (normal sized) cupcake tin for muffins. I cooked the muffins for 30 min and the bread for 45. Both came out lovely, but muffins were a bit dry and needed butter. Overall, the bread was better and more moist. I will make both again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victor, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2000
I made this as muffins and it turned out great. The recipe makes 18 regular size muffins. Bake them from 20 to 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
these were delicious.. i made them oversized muffins instead of bread loaves, and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe........except for the cranberries! Way too many, & way tooooooo tart! I will make it again however, because it utilizes oats, it's sweet without sugar, dense, moist,& altogether a nice healthy recipe that tastes very good once we picked out those berries! Next time I'll substitute raisins or dates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIE2830

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Cheektowaga, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2004
I halved the recipe and it was GREAT! I reduced the oats by 1/4 cup to try to help with the dryness comments of others and mine didn't come out dry at all. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States