Honey Cranberry Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly as written and my house smelled amazing as it was baking. However the end product was extremely disappointing. It was Very, Very, Dry. As I was putting the batter into the loaf pans I noticed it seemed quite dense and double checked the recipe in case I had misread the ingredients and should add additional liquid, but I hadn't and figured the low amount of liquid was made up with the addition of the honey. When I try this again I will be adding extra liquid to increase the moisture. Beyond that the taste is excellent, just to to dry.Am going to try toasting it then putting on butter to see how that will work out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Eagan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
I made as muffins, they were heavy and bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Wonderful and refreshing. Using honey in lieu of white or brown sugar and no shortening or butter makes this a much healthy choice for a snack or breakfast bread. The tart cranberries and the not so sweet bread was delicious. Bread was not dry and has a light texture. This one will go in the recipe box for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I read all the reviews before making it and added ingredients to make it moister, because dryness was the main complaint. I cut the oats to 1/2 cup, added 1/2 mashed banana, 1/2 C of sour cream, 1/2 tsp. of nutmeg and 2 tsp. of flaxseed. I made 1 regular loaf and 3 mini's for gifts. I used thawed frozen cranberries and cut some of the bigger ones in half. Quite a few modifications, but the result was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I modified the recipe: I used 2 bananas 2/3 C veg oil 1 Cup of milk 3 eggs I also used dried cranberries It turned out moist unlike the previous reviews the only other thing to sweeten up I would increase the honey or add 1/4 c of sugar and go to a tsp of cinnamon. I like it the way I prepared. But for those who like a sweeter bread you will need to increase the amount of honey or sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Church Hill, Maryland, USA
Living In: Carbondale, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
I used only 1c of cranberries and sliced them prior to adding into the dough. I also used almond milk. The bread is too dry. But I like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
After reading the reviews about this bread being too dry, I decided to add one small mashed banana. I scaled the recipe to one loaf. It still came out dry, too dense and it is not sweet enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Great recipe for a healthy bread. What I did was double it, sub 3 cups wholewheat flour and 2 cups reg white for the 5C flour, cut the honey to 1 1/4, added 5T of ground flax and put it into 2 loaf pans and 1 med (normal sized) cupcake tin for muffins. I cooked the muffins for 30 min and the bread for 45. Both came out lovely, but muffins were a bit dry and needed butter. Overall, the bread was better and more moist. I will make both again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Victor, New York, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
I made this into muffins. Due to the other reviews remarking on dryness, I added about 3/4 cup of sour cream & they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
My husband eats this for breakfast and snacks. I have added 1/4 cup flaxseed for more fiber and omega 3 and substituted the vegatable oil with no sugar added applesauce. I also used dried cranberries after I boiled the moisture back into them. All of my neighbors love it!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparks55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Portland, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Cranberry Orange Bread

Learn how to make this popular sweet treat for the holidays.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States