Honey Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
So darned good that it's going to become a regular on the menu. Tastes so much like my grandma's from Louisiana that I just can't not make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geebz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
Love this recipe. My only adjustment is to leave out the corn. The flavor is perfect, just be careful not to over cook this. I always check it early.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2012
I really wanted to like this after reading the few great comments. Followed everything to the recipe but pulled it out before the the time was up .. I will look for another one ..very bland and taste less
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I doubled the recipe and made them in individual cup cake servings because we had so many people. They were a big hit.. I made 2 changes because of what I had on hand. I used whipping cream in stead of half and half and I used agave instead of honey.. I also added the corn frozen and it was a big hit. They were so yummy.. Only cooked them 15 minutes.. Thank you so much. I do love them sweet next time I will add more agave. The best part is I made this in South Africa most of the people had never had corn bread and now I am a big hit.. HAHA thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trouble

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Panama Province, Panama
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
YU-MMY!!!!!! I would have never guessed the taste it would have after i read through the ingredients. I expected more of a tasteless and bland sort of bread, but this is absolutely delicious!!!! I definitely look forward to making it again...i decided to make only a third of the recipe and messed up on the times and temperature for the reduced recipe and made everything alright by heating it once it was out of the oven in the microwave. This is definitely good stuff. Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mombasa, Coast, Kenya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is our favorite cornbread recipe. I like to cook it in a preheated 9-inch cast iron skillet for a nice crust (only takes 20 min. this way). I omit vanilla and use milk instead of half-n-half and it works fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Did not cook well and the part I could eat had no flavor. Very disappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SmitY1910

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
I doubled the recipe and put it in a 9x12 pan. It is great. My wife can't stop taking little pieces... It starts off like regular cornbread but then the sweetness kicks in and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
This is a great basic recipe that you can play around with and still have great results. I have made it twice and liked my "oops" better. A tip on the frozen corn that I think someone else mentioned: mix it in with the dry parts FIRST, then add the liquid, and the corn won't sink. Mine were fine both times. I made muffins each time, and the bake time is far less, but do NOT grease the pans - the muffins burn slightly that way. Here are my modifications: Instead of half & half cream, I used the same amount of a combination of about half buttermilk and half heavy cream (I just poured a 1 cup mostly full with one, topped it and the 1/3 cup off with the other). Instead of honey, we liked it better when we used maple syrup b/c we were out of honey. I also only used 3tsp vanilla instead of 4 for this one, and it was by far the best we've ever had. Going to slightly up the butter content on this one to see if I can get it a little more moist too. So, it's a great basic recipe that you can play around with to your heart's content!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halfmoon, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
was very bland in that it did not tast like corn. to cake like. Jiffy makes the best box mix. I will continue to look for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States