Honey Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
You can change this recipe to make a more Central European Honey cookie (pierniczki in Polish) substitute the anise for 2 tsp. cinnamon + 1 tsp. ginger + 1/2 tsp. cloves + 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. You might need to add some more flour to roll & cut out. Bake carefully so they don't burn. To ice: Make a runny icing with icing sugar, egg white and lemon juice. When the cookies are still warm, dip them into this icing, and let dry on a cookie rack. These cookies soften with time. I like to make them at least 3 weeks before Xmas, and keep them in a tin with an apple wedge. Thse are our family XMAS favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
amazing and so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cbakerwitt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I split this recipe in half and they were so good. They are cake like and sweet. I didnt use anise because I dont even really know what that is. They were a bit dry but that made them pair perfectly with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oluska
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very versatile. I used spices like in pierniczki, but to make them tasting more authentic I put raspberry jelly in them: put a spoon of dough on the cookie sheet, put a little jelly on top and then topped them with more dough. Really livens up the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oluska
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
yummy in my tummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
At first we were sure we would not like these cookies made without out butter and which had a wierdish dough. We waited with apprehension as they cooked. But when they were done, we couldn't stop eating them!! And yes, they are a bit cakey. We thought they were like pancake cookies, but again, we could hardly stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
It was really yummy! They are like little cakes. I kinda changed the reccipe a bit though because I didn't have enough ingredients and didn't wanna make so many cookies. Had 2 and half cups flour, half tsp baking powder and half tsp baking soda. 2 eggs, 1/4 cup milk, 3/4cup honey. added the cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg like on the other review but halved all the amounts. Made the icing with icing sugar, egg white and lime concentrate. It was a great icing thanks! Was tempted to put in butter but it turned out good without any :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
They were kind of bland, but interesting. I added the spices recommended by other reviewers, and I'm glad that I did, because without them it would have had no flavor at all. Although the texture of the cookies was nice. As it was though, my husband and I went thru almost an entire batch before the day was over, so there was something that enticed us back for more. Worth the try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2kinsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
The cookies were somewhat bland - I wish I had tried adding some spices as suggested in previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I cut the recipe in 3, and it filled out a whole oven tray :) I adored them, my boyfriend not so much, so I'll have to give a middle rating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Easy Lemon Cookies

These lemony cookies put a delicious twist on basic cake mix.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States