Honey Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
You can change this recipe to make a more Central European Honey cookie (pierniczki in Polish) substitute the anise for 2 tsp. cinnamon + 1 tsp. ginger + 1/2 tsp. cloves + 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. You might need to add some more flour to roll & cut out. Bake carefully so they don't burn. To ice: Make a runny icing with icing sugar, egg white and lemon juice. When the cookies are still warm, dip them into this icing, and let dry on a cookie rack. These cookies soften with time. I like to make them at least 3 weeks before Xmas, and keep them in a tin with an apple wedge. Thse are our family XMAS favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This recipe just didn't do it for my husband and I. Although the overall flavor was okay, the texture was too cake-like, puffy, and spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
At first we were sure we would not like these cookies made without out butter and which had a wierdish dough. We waited with apprehension as they cooked. But when they were done, we couldn't stop eating them!! And yes, they are a bit cakey. We thought they were like pancake cookies, but again, we could hardly stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I split this recipe in half and they were so good. They are cake like and sweet. I didnt use anise because I dont even really know what that is. They were a bit dry but that made them pair perfectly with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oluska
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very versatile. I used spices like in pierniczki, but to make them tasting more authentic I put raspberry jelly in them: put a spoon of dough on the cookie sheet, put a little jelly on top and then topped them with more dough. Really livens up the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oluska
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
It was really yummy! They are like little cakes. I kinda changed the reccipe a bit though because I didn't have enough ingredients and didn't wanna make so many cookies. Had 2 and half cups flour, half tsp baking powder and half tsp baking soda. 2 eggs, 1/4 cup milk, 3/4cup honey. added the cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg like on the other review but halved all the amounts. Made the icing with icing sugar, egg white and lime concentrate. It was a great icing thanks! Was tempted to put in butter but it turned out good without any :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
I haven't met a cookie that I didn't like until today. I am not very picky at all. I made this exactly as stated. I love cake-like cookies, but these are more like rubbery pancakes as other have described. I even added some cinnamon to the batter after I baked the first ones but it is no use. I make a yummy orange glaze, but it doesn't help. The texture of this cookie is overwhelming or strange. I am mad I just wasted 2 full cups of honey tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Good recipe, not too sweet tasting, despite all that honey. I found that this recipe made WAY too many cookies though. I'll try a half-batch next time and use 1 whole egg + 1 egg white (to keep the fluffiness). My first batch were really big, so us a teaspoon and drop well spaced blobs no bigger than a quarter; they puff up alot. I guess I'm not a big fan of liquorice either, so next time I will use vanilla or almond extract to flavour it. I really liked the texture - sortof a marshmallow cookie :). One last thing is that I detected a slight taste of baking soda, so maybe cut that down a bit (1 1/2tsp maybe, or 3/4tsp for a half batch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Not so sure about these cookies. I read the reviews so I am not too surprised that they are a different cookie. I didn't have anise extract (with all the extracts I have you'd think I would, but nope) so I used the recommendations of that first review on the front page to use cloves, cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg. The flavor isn't too bad, but the texture of these cookies really do remind me of little pancakes. Which makes me think that if you like pancakes, maybe it's a good little breakfast cookie. I know the recipe said not to overbake, but they needed 12 minutes in my oven, not 10, as they were gummy otherwise. I also made a few batches and then decided they needed something, so I added in about a cup of dried cranberries. That helped a bit, but I don't think I'll make these again. Just not quite for us. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I used this recipe last night and when I tasted the cookies I had to wonder how well you get along with your mother-in-law. not that great - too much aniseed and the texture is rather pancake like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States