Honey Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Good recipe, not too sweet tasting, despite all that honey. I found that this recipe made WAY too many cookies though. I'll try a half-batch next time and use 1 whole egg + 1 egg white (to keep the fluffiness). My first batch were really big, so us a teaspoon and drop well spaced blobs no bigger than a quarter; they puff up alot. I guess I'm not a big fan of liquorice either, so next time I will use vanilla or almond extract to flavour it. I really liked the texture - sortof a marshmallow cookie :). One last thing is that I detected a slight taste of baking soda, so maybe cut that down a bit (1 1/2tsp maybe, or 3/4tsp for a half batch).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brampton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I used this recipe last night and when I tasted the cookies I had to wonder how well you get along with your mother-in-law. not that great - too much aniseed and the texture is rather pancake like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2008
These are too sweet, use less honey, and have a consistency much similar to Honey biscuits. Its actually not bad with a little butter. Try baking longer than the directions untill they form a light brown crust on top. Then cut in half and add some butter. Really sweet biscuits, not cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Oluska
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Very versatile. I used spices like in pierniczki, but to make them tasting more authentic I put raspberry jelly in them: put a spoon of dough on the cookie sheet, put a little jelly on top and then topped them with more dough. Really livens up the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Oluska
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
The cookies were somewhat bland - I wish I had tried adding some spices as suggested in previous reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
I split this recipe in half and they were so good. They are cake like and sweet. I didnt use anise because I dont even really know what that is. They were a bit dry but that made them pair perfectly with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
It was really yummy! They are like little cakes. I kinda changed the reccipe a bit though because I didn't have enough ingredients and didn't wanna make so many cookies. Had 2 and half cups flour, half tsp baking powder and half tsp baking soda. 2 eggs, 1/4 cup milk, 3/4cup honey. added the cinnamon, ginger, and nutmeg like on the other review but halved all the amounts. Made the icing with icing sugar, egg white and lime concentrate. It was a great icing thanks! Was tempted to put in butter but it turned out good without any :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by littlemoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
At first we were sure we would not like these cookies made without out butter and which had a wierdish dough. We waited with apprehension as they cooked. But when they were done, we couldn't stop eating them!! And yes, they are a bit cakey. We thought they were like pancake cookies, but again, we could hardly stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
This recipe just didn't do it for my husband and I. Although the overall flavor was okay, the texture was too cake-like, puffy, and spongy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
You can change this recipe to make a more Central European Honey cookie (pierniczki in Polish) substitute the anise for 2 tsp. cinnamon + 1 tsp. ginger + 1/2 tsp. cloves + 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. You might need to add some more flour to roll & cut out. Bake carefully so they don't burn. To ice: Make a runny icing with icing sugar, egg white and lemon juice. When the cookies are still warm, dip them into this icing, and let dry on a cookie rack. These cookies soften with time. I like to make them at least 3 weeks before Xmas, and keep them in a tin with an apple wedge. Thse are our family XMAS favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States