Honey-Cocoa Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made this without the cocoa, using the 1/2 cup of honey, and using light cream cheese (neufchatel) to put on carrot cake muffins. I have to admit, just tasting the frosting by itself, I didn't care for it. It had a strong tangy flavor from the honey and cream cheese. BUT....it tasted really good with the muffins. I would make this again, it was easy to make, light, and I love that there's no refined sugar in it. Plus my kids liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah E.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JanaRae
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I made the chocolate version, and the flavor is reminiscent of my grandma's coffee cloud pie topping (which I love, so I am also in love with this topping!). This is so good that I licked the bowl clean...and it makes a lot, so there was plenty left! So good! Mrs. Michael Ramey - if you have any more recipes up your sleeve, please do share! It is quite hard to find recipes without refined sugar that taste this good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made the white frosting and I loved it. It was light and loved that it didn't need any sugar. I put it over a pumpkin cake. Can't wait to make the chocolate frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
love it, sweet, light, airy. cream cheese and whipped cream make a great combo. need to have stiff peaks on cream. refrigerate to thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tantuc
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I've made this frosting without cocoa or vanilla to go with my carob cakes. I used other reviewers' suggestions and reduced honey to 1/2 cup. I also used raw cream. The frosting was wonderfully light. It went very well with the carob cake. There was enough to frost two single layer cakes. I gave it 4 stars only because of the excessive amount of honey in the recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Tried this recipe to go on a chocolate cake I had baked it I did not like it at all. It had this extra sweet (from the honey) but tangy flavor (from the cream cheese) that just didn't take good to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This recipe uses no sugar. It has a nice texture and is very easy to work with. I only frosted a single layer cake so I have plenty left. I'm going to frost gob cookies with the leftovers. Thank you Mrs. Ramey for a very different type of frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2009
I was excited to find an frosting recipe that uses honey. This one was great, but I made a few changes the second time around. I made the white frosting. The vannila flavor was way strong. I skipped putting vannila completely the next time. The honey is a little strong too. I did 1/2 a cup the second time and next time I will probably cut it to 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
This was just what I needed. My husband won't eat anything with white sugar in it but he's okay with honey. For his birthday I wanted to make a cake with frosting he could enjoy. I made the "white" version of this frosting and he loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shirley Temple

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Cream Cheese Frosting II

See how to make the best cream-cheese frosting for cakes, cookies, and breads.

Whipped Cream Cream Cheese Frosting

Cream cheese and whipped cream make this frosting addictive.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States