Honey Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
While listening to the Beatles' White Album's "Wild Honey Pie", I wondered if such a pie actually existed... When looking for it, I eventually found this one. Since I love both chocolate and honey, I thought this pie deserved a try. I baked Angela's shortbread crust (recipe found on this website as well), stirred chestnut tree honey (very strong taste) in the whipped egg white, followed the recipe and finally tasted it. Even if it is uncommun, the mix between chocolate and honey is great. Despite that pure chestnut tree honey has a very strong taste, it was quite discrete in this pie, just a subtle after-taste. The only suggestion I would make is to rather use a tart shell than a pie shell. For the record, I've never found any honey pie recipe, especially not a "wild honey pie".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This pie is so good and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
Excellent restaurant-quality chocolate pie! And easy and fast to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I made this pie for my family and they LOVED it! I doubled it and saved one. It definitly needed the whipped topping but I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
Simply delicious! My family keeps asking me to make this again & again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Good Lord, this was so sweet, it made the teeth curl!! Of course the kids 11&9 loved it, but dang, this was so sweet it refused to set, so we kept it in the freezer, then hubby and I could only eat the crust. Gosh, this is freakin' too sweet, and I love sweets! Sorry but I won't make this again, I'll need a shot of insulin first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I made this recipe and it was wonderful! I am allergic to dairy protein, so I used soy sour cream. I also used dairy free dark chocolate. Even with these changes noone could tell and it got rave reviews! My very picky 6 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
I like the taste of this pie, that is where the stars come from. But the pie is too dense. It need something to fluff it up a bit. I struggled melting the chocolate chips since I don't have a double boiler which could have been part of the problem. Someone who is good a tweeking recipes needs to try this then let us all know what is missing. I will keep working on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Was told this was wonderful, made it for a friend and sent it home with her.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ang D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marietta, Ohio, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
This pie is amazing. I have wanted to make more desserts for my 18 year old son while not having to use white sugar. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States