Honey Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This recipe is the only one I've found up to the task of replacing my sugar carrot cake. This is a great recipe! Just as good and moist as the other cake. I made it as muffins for my 2 year old's birthday, and they tasted GREAT as muffins. Very moist, very flavorful, very yum. And since honey is a whole food, it doesn't do a whammy on your body the way sugar does. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I've also added some berries and apples to the recipe and skipped the glazing - super fine recipe!!! My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Brava! This is a wonderful recipe. I've made it twice and I liked it both times, a little better the second time when I increased the carrots to 3 cups and the pecans to 1 1/2 cups. It was moister and very dense. If you don't like a dense cake, leave the amounts the same as the original recipe. The moisture was there both times I made it. The cream cheese frosting is to die for and to decorate the cake, I crushed a Nonni's Gingerbread Macadamia nut biscotti and sprinkled it on top. It is a limited time release biscotti that I bought at Sam's Club and had on hand available for this Fall time of year. It added a nice pretty golden dusting to the top of the cake and although the flavor came through a little, it didn't overpower the flavor of the cake. Top Notch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2005
Great carrot cake. Didn't have enough honey to make the frosting, but people enjoyed it without. Smells heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
I thought this was a fantastic recipe!! The people at work loved it too! So simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pemberton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Lumberton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This was excellent! the pineapple made it really moist, and it was just the right sweetness. I actually used 1/2 cup maple syrup and 1 cup of honey, and it turned out really nice. frosting is wonderful also. very simple and easy to make in very little time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This was great! My husband is a health and fitness nut and didn't want a birthday cake that had any refined sugar. He loved this, and so did my kids, who have no problem gobbling down refined sugar! Glad to have found a cake to please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Very good cake. Not as sweet as traditional, but in my opinion even better. My family loves this cake and it is not so sweet as to send my daughter into orbit like many sweets can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Best carrot cake I ever had! Frosting was very tasty, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne O

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Bluffton, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good delicious cake. I use my food processor to grate the carrots, walnuts, and pineapples very finely, so my kids don't see them. Then they love it, and I feel good that they aren't eating refined sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States