Honey Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great healthy cake. For anyone wondering... I substituted whole wheat flour for 2 of the cups of flour with no ill effect. Also, I baked it in a bundt pan (the person I was baking it for could not have any type of icing, so I thought a bundt shape would be prettier), and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This was great! My husband is a health and fitness nut and didn't want a birthday cake that had any refined sugar. He loved this, and so did my kids, who have no problem gobbling down refined sugar! Glad to have found a cake to please everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This is a great carrot cake recipe! As I keep finding with the cakes I've been making lately, this cake tastes even better after the day it is made. I used 2 9-inch rounds for this cake. I did find the frosting for this cake to be a bit "strange". It's mainly just cream cheese, and as a result, the honey "separated out" once I had iced the cake. By the second day, the cake was looking stranger and stranger (a brown, streaky appearance and the icing had split along the line where the two cake layers come together)...but it sure did taste good! If anyone has some tips to prevent this, please post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
This recipe is the only one I've found up to the task of replacing my sugar carrot cake. This is a great recipe! Just as good and moist as the other cake. I made it as muffins for my 2 year old's birthday, and they tasted GREAT as muffins. Very moist, very flavorful, very yum. And since honey is a whole food, it doesn't do a whammy on your body the way sugar does. Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This recipe is FANTASTIC!! For those of you looking for a healthier alternative to refined sugar. This takes the cake!! I also used 3 cups of carrots instead of 2 and used safflower oil instead of vegetable. I try to bake with honey as much as possible, and the "impossible" seems to be getting easier and easier. Keep the baking with honey recipes coming!!! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
Brava! This is a wonderful recipe. I've made it twice and I liked it both times, a little better the second time when I increased the carrots to 3 cups and the pecans to 1 1/2 cups. It was moister and very dense. If you don't like a dense cake, leave the amounts the same as the original recipe. The moisture was there both times I made it. The cream cheese frosting is to die for and to decorate the cake, I crushed a Nonni's Gingerbread Macadamia nut biscotti and sprinkled it on top. It is a limited time release biscotti that I bought at Sam's Club and had on hand available for this Fall time of year. It added a nice pretty golden dusting to the top of the cake and although the flavor came through a little, it didn't overpower the flavor of the cake. Top Notch recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Very good delicious cake. I use my food processor to grate the carrots, walnuts, and pineapples very finely, so my kids don't see them. Then they love it, and I feel good that they aren't eating refined sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made this, using fine carrot pulp from carrot juicing, and raw, unfiltered honey. The honey blended well with the cream cheese and stayed blended, even overnight. Then I served it to some of the most demanding dinner guests imaginable: fellow churchmen eating a pot-luck meal. After one hour, it was three-fourths gone. All who tried it, loved it, and at least fifteen people asked for the recipe. Honey is a flavor enhancer. Refined sugar dominates any mix it goes into, so that what you taste is flavored sugar. But honey does not suppress and dominate other flavors; it brings them out. So you can actually taste the carrots, the pineapple, the spices, and the walnuts, with a bare hint of extra sweetness. And best of all, it produces no "sugar high" and "sugar crash," nor does it make you drowsy after you eat it, nor suppress your immune system, as refined sugar tends to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Millburn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2003
This was excellent! the pineapple made it really moist, and it was just the right sweetness. I actually used 1/2 cup maple syrup and 1 cup of honey, and it turned out really nice. frosting is wonderful also. very simple and easy to make in very little time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2007
Very good cake. Not as sweet as traditional, but in my opinion even better. My family loves this cake and it is not so sweet as to send my daughter into orbit like many sweets can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Day Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States