Honey Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Great for having no sugar! But I will put in a whole 20 oz can of pineapple or add more oil if there is a next time, because it was a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Great taste, great texture! I halved the recipe and made it into 30 mini muffins. We will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
A perfect cake to make for my Grandpa's birthday party! He cant have sugar and this was just what I was looking for. We didn't make the icing because he doesn't eat cheese instead we topped it with my mom's homemade dairy free ice cream. Next time I make this cake I will add 1 cup raisins. He is also allergic to wheat but no problem it was easy to substitute spelt flour for wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
My carrot cake recipe is better - I think I'll just try subbing the sugar with honey. For the frosting, DO NOT use lowfat cream cheese - it's like glue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Terry
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I made this, using fine carrot pulp from carrot juicing, and raw, unfiltered honey. The honey blended well with the cream cheese and stayed blended, even overnight. Then I served it to some of the most demanding dinner guests imaginable: fellow churchmen eating a pot-luck meal. After one hour, it was three-fourths gone. All who tried it, loved it, and at least fifteen people asked for the recipe. Honey is a flavor enhancer. Refined sugar dominates any mix it goes into, so that what you taste is flavored sugar. But honey does not suppress and dominate other flavors; it brings them out. So you can actually taste the carrots, the pineapple, the spices, and the walnuts, with a bare hint of extra sweetness. And best of all, it produces no "sugar high" and "sugar crash," nor does it make you drowsy after you eat it, nor suppress your immune system, as refined sugar tends to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Millburn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2009
Great healthy cake. For anyone wondering... I substituted whole wheat flour for 2 of the cups of flour with no ill effect. Also, I baked it in a bundt pan (the person I was baking it for could not have any type of icing, so I thought a bundt shape would be prettier), and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
I followed the ingredients exactly (except the frosting) and it's awesome! I baked it in a sheet pan instead of 9x13 pan (it only took 18-20 minutes to bake).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI Q

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baker, Montana, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
If you are used to not having much of any sweets, this may satisfy your sweet tooth craving for carrot cake. However, if you're looking to avoid refined sugar and still get a tasty treat...you are better off indulging in a small slice of the full-sugar stuff. Pretty tasteless unless you put a load of cream cheese frosting on it. Will stick to the "real deal" next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
I was pleasantly surprised by this cake. I kind of knew this might be something I would like since I am not a big fan of sugary sweet desserts. I made this recipe into cupcakes for the Valentines party at my son's daycare. I was not sure that the kids (2 year olds) would like them since they were not that sweet but I did not want my son to have a bunch of artificial colors and super sweet junk so I made them. I figured at least he would eat them. The surprise was that on the following Monday, one of the teachers complimented me on the cupcakes and said the kids absolutely loved them. Who says toddlers will only eat junk? Hubby loved these too. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Fabulous! We were looking for a good sugar-free cake, for my my daughter's first birthday.... as we try to avoid giving her sugar. We made this cake... and it was a HUGE hit with everyone, esp my health conscious friends at her birthday party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States