Honey Carrot Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
My husband said, "best carrot cake I've ever had, wow, holy smokes!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Like another reviewer I found this ingredients seemed to make this recipe so incredibly moist, too moist. I am from the UK so wondering if this site converts to metric accurately. I had to bake it an extra 2 hours! And even after that it is nothing like a carrot cake. It tastes like Christmas pudding to me now. With all the amazing reviews I wonder what on earth I did wrong as I followed recipe and cooking instructions. The topping was also a bit too runny, was not sure if it was meant to harden but its a bit strange to say the least, won't be trying this again a lot of ingredients that do not match what everyone else says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
Love it!!! Made a few changes. I did use rice flour and half of pineapple and the other half apple. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
Made exactly per the directions and it turned out great! Great low-sugar recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aubriek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Pretty tasty. Give a little different flavor with the honey, but prefer another recipe on here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
I made this recipe gluten free by substituting the 3 cups of regular flour for 1 cup of sweet potato flour (if your gluten free or paleo buy this on Amazon and you will appreciate it's addition to your kitchen!), 1 cup of potato starch and 1 cup of sorghum flour plus 1 teaspoon of xanthum gum. I'm sure a mixture of rice flours would be fine as well. Addtionally I left out the buttermilk and added another egg white. I think this is probably a very forgiving recipe that will take a lot of tweaking before it turns out badly. I used Earth Balance spread and Swerve sweetener with a couple of drops of cream cheese flavoring to replicate a dairy free, carb free frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
Very good, will likely make again. Good served hot, with frosting, like a bread pudding. It looked like ithad too much honey, so I put 1/3 cup honey instead of the 1 1/2 cup. I also pureed half a can of pineapple and half a canned peach. For the frosting I used vegan cream cheese and maple syrup, honey, vanilla, and it tasted vaguely like a vegan ice cream bar. I also put in 3 1/2 cups of carrots, and for anyone wondering, gluten-free flour works just fine here. Excellent with roasted walnuts on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
Delicious and perfectly sweet! I used a 16oz can of crushed pineapple, pecans instead of walnuts, and added 1 c of chopped dried tart cherries. I baked the cake in two 8" round cake pans. I cut each layer in two to make a four layer cake. I doubled the frosting and it was the perfect amount for my four layer cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEGLASSINTACT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I love this recipe. Although I change it up quite a bit, but every time I make it everyone raves about it. Technically I think I change it enough that it's a totally different recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tipharah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Selmer, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
moist, sweet, and yummy. made for Janel's 2nd birthday and Mom's 60th (without spices). used whole wheat pastry flour. butter and flour pans if removing from pans to frost
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States