Honey Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Tastes great! I made with only a few modifications (no almonds or raisins, espresso in place of coffee, and a sweeter, non-citrus honey glaze). Following the advice of the other reviewers, I decreased the baking time to about fifty minutes for a loaf pan and twenty-five minutes for a cupcake pan. Honey cakes are notoriously easy to overbake, but these came out moist despite having less oil than most recipes. (I did have to tent the loaf pan to keep it from browning too quickly.) Will try again with roasted pecans to add crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This turned out beautifully! So yummy, so nice looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
Loved it! My friend said that it was better then her grandmothers, who is the queen of honey cakes! I did put in a bit less honey then the recipe calls for, but it was still very sweet. The the glaze is an absolute must! Will definitely make over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Evcha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
This is so close to the delicious honey cakes I grew up with. I didn't drizzle glaze though, only brushed it on top and it was the perfect amount (can cut that glaze in half then). I have a question though and I'm hoping someone can help me... the cake raised and tasted great but the middle sunk a lot. I only opened the oven once to check on it so I wouldn't think it was that. Thoughts? Thanks. (I don't think it would be my baking soda or powder since it did rise)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2002
Great honey cake. I added ground almonds and served with a milk syrup at Rosh Hashanah. Went over well and many requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
It was my first honey cake ever and I was very impressed! I also glazed the sides of the cake too to make it extra moist!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
The Honey cake was superb in texture. It's incredibly sweet and enjoyable! A great choice for Rosh Hashanah!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eastcoast_diva

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Tried this recipe the it was almost perfect, the cooking time was extensive, I have checked it 60 minutes after putting it into a oven and it was already slightly overcooked next time I will check on it after 45 or 50 minutes, also the amount of nuts and raisins better be doubled from what the recipe suggests. Other then that, it was good. Definitely will do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slava KC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2000
This was a great recipe! Our family had lost our old honey cake recipe in moving house, so it was a joy to find this one-- THANX! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Delicious honey cake - rich and yummy. The glaze really makes the honey flavor pop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States