Honey Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
Yummy cake. I made it 2 days before the event I was bringing it to and by then it was a little dry even thought it had been wrapped up. I rewarmed it and served it with Honey Syrup (by Denise). It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Oh. My. Gosh! This recipe was such a pleasant surprise. I thought with 3/4 cup of sugar and 1 cup of honey the finished product would be over the top sweet. It's not! In fact, the yield of 33 cupcakes were not very sweet at all. They are light and airy with a yummy Fall-like taste. I used the frosting recipe from Harvest Pumpkin Cupcakes at the suggestion of Marianne. Great choice! It didn't overwhelm the cupcakes and was a perfect pairing for these delicious little gems. I will absolutely make again. Next time I'll add walnuts too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2001
This recipe made a big hit. It doesn't have the bitter taste usually associated with honey cakes. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2002
Moist, soft and very delicious. I'm glad to find this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I made this for my boyfriend's grandmother for a holiday dinner. She loved it. I prefer a honey cake with a soaking syrup, but for what it is, this cake is perfect. Thank you Suzanne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2003
The cake was a real success at the last Rosh Ha’Sana dinner. I’m usually not too crazy about honey cakes , tough, this one wasnot too sweet, and very interesting, sophisticated taste. I used Turkish coffee by the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
i've been making this recipe for the past year and a half and everyone loves it. it has a homey character. it freezes well too when you take the time to wrap it properly.i have also substituted the instant coffee with coffee liquer and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2004
Brought this to work and served it sliced and buttered - it disappeared very quickly! Will definately make this again. Thanks Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Great recipe. I used it for a class and it was a hit. I topped it with more honey and ground almonds. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
I have just made this recipe and it tastes awesome. I am letting it sit til tomorrow. I am trying a coffee icing so we will see what the reactions will be. J Toth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo-Ann Toth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Jenny's Black Forest Cake

See how to make a classic dark chocolate and cherry cake.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Coco-Cola Cake III

Turn cocoa and cola into a 5-star chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States