Honey Butter Yule Ham Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
This recipe is so tasty and easy that I am ashamed to admit I didn't think of it myself. I usually don't review recipes that I have altered because I don't think it's fair to the person who submitted it, but I will make an excpetion in this case. My husband usually gets a giant ham from work every year for christmas. It is way too much to have for even Christmas dinner since we usually do a turkey also. It is hard to store whole so I always cut it up and divide between large ziplocks to fit in my freezer. For this reason I could not do the recipe exactly at it is written. I did not change the ingredients, just the method. I heated the honey and butter and cloves then dipped each slice of ham into the mixture and layered into my slow cooker. I poured the additional honey butter on top of the ham and put the cooker on low for all day. I am sure that this would be delicious cooked the way the recipe states in the oven, but I was worried that since my ham was in slices already that it might get too dried out. I must try it sometime with a whole small ham or spiral cut in the oven. I still can't believe its so easy and using my slow cooker made it even easier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
The ham was very moist and tender. I mixed the butter, honey, and 1 tsp of ground cloves. The mixture smelled divine and I was excited to taste the finished ham. I used a Smithfield Ham for the recipe but I expected the results to be more grand. It just didn't have "Wow" results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monica Boles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chatsworth, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hixson, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
This recipe is yummy and very easy. I altered it a little bit: I halved the recipe, giving me just enough of the honey/butter concoction to thoroughly coat the outside of the ham and I poured gingerale in the bottom of my pan. I stuck whole cloves all around that outside of the ham. It turned out so moist and so good even my picky husband loved it! Will certainly make again! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallory825

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Swansboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Yum! I don't even like ham all that much...but this is easy and sooo delicious! My sister made it and she only added a small amount of cloves, and it is probably just as delicious with them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
I used a precooked ham instead of the bone in ham and followed the cooking directions on the wrapper using this glaze. I did not add the cloves. I have never tasted anything so delicious! The glaze was really good with potatoes too! Considering the glaze consisted of only two ingredients but tasted better than anything a gourmet chef could make I would say this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Made this recipe tonight. Really easy and really good. Definately a keeper. Can't wait for leftovers tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Pretty much the tastiest and easiest ham ever on the face of the earth! My whole family loved it, and we couldn't get enough of the left overs for sandwiches or otherwise. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
I'm rating this recipe as 4 stars because my husband loved it. I found it to be a little salty, and the ham cooked much quicker than the recipe called for, so it was a little over done before I noticed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsgrove, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Vineland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
Good, easy recipe. Nice flavor but was missing a certain tang that pineapple can add. May try adding some rings to the ham next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riceville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
This was just OK for me. I used two ham steaks and cooked like the recipe said - 20 min. per pound and it must have been too long or you just can't use ham steaks. They were dry and really didn't have much of a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bells67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Temperance, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tangy Honey Glazed Ham

Pineapple juice, honey, and Dijon create a tangy glaze for baked ham.

Glazed Ham

Raw ham is slow roasted and seasoned with a sweet smoky sauce.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States