Honey Bun Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Oh the deliciousness!!!! This was so yummy. I put only 1/8 cup of the white sugar in the cake, next time I will leave out completely. I left some of the streusel for the top, I liked it a lot that way. Next time I will do 2 layers of streusel. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittymom82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This recipe was great!! I cooked it and took it to work and my co-workers LOVED it!! It was easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mstoy09

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Easy and delicious cake. Will make again. Increased bake temperature to 350 for 50 minutes. Omitted the raisins and nuts(due to my family's taste). Add cinnamon to icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Really great recipe! Didn't use the frosting though, I think it would be too sweet for me. Also excluded raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
was ok..a little too sweet but the kids loved it. It also was not the nicest looking cake at the end. I made it into some cupcakes and an eight inch cake. May try it again in a bundt cake pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
I have been using this recipe for several years and everybody that has tasted it just loves it! It is especially good served warm. The only thing that I do differently is to omit the raisins because I don't like them. Also, I use pecans instead of walnuts, again, my preference. Another thing, I don't use quite 2 cups (maybe 1.5 - 1.75 cups) of powdered sugar in the icing because I think it makes it too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This is a very delicious cake. I make it everytime i'm involved in a pot luck dinner. Everybody loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JUSTJEN33
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Great! Although, I did omit the raisins & nuts. I did use 8 oz. of sour cream & you may want to reduce the brown sugar a bit. It is for the sweet tooth but it is Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTJEN33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Wow, this cake was so sweet it made my teeth ache! I will probably never really make this again but if I did I would make it healthier. You definately didn't need extra sugar in the cake batter and too much sugar for the filling. I guess that's what a honey bun tastes like though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
I lost this recipe when we moved & am so glad to find it again. I made the cake this morning for my husband's office & here's what he said--"I had 2 pieces & others had several--it was very very good!" Here are the only adjustments I made: cut the white sugar to 1/4 cup, cut the oil to 1/2 cup, added 1/3 cup water; left out the raisins & nuts. Baking temp of 300 seemed to low to me, so I upped it to 325, then to 340. I think the temp & time need adjustment. The icing was great--I added 1/4 t maple flavoring & 1 t vanilla. Thanks for a keeper Suzanne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Honey Maid Cheesecake

This delicious, slightly decadent cheesecake is a snap to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States