Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
Everytime I make this cake for a morning meeting at work, it gets rave reviews. I make a few changes though. I make mine in a bundt pan. I sprinkle some of the topping on the bottom of the pan and then put in some of the batter and then sprinkle some more topping and then more batter and then top with the rest of the topping. It makes a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
196 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2003
This is a wonderful cake!!! I thought it tasted very similar to a honey bun, my husband thought it tasted like a coffee cake but we both thought it was awesome! Extremely moist and tasted great. I did make a few substitutions. I made the cake batter from scratch (2 1/3 c. flour, 1 tbl. baking powder, 3/4 tsp. salt, 1 1/2 c. white sugar & 1/2 c. shortening. Sift together dry ing. & add shortening until crumbly in nature. Then follow the recipe as is). Added 1 tsp of vanilla & 1/2 tsp of brandy extract to the batter. Reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 cups. Halved the icing & added 1/4 tsp of brandy extract to that, as well. I'm not big on glaze & only ended up using about 3/4 of what I made. I served it warm & ended up eating seconds which I never do. It was easy to make & I loved the taste. This is the cake to make when you're craving something sweet & satisfying. Thanks for this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
This cake tastes like one giant cinnamon roll. It is REALLY good. The presentation is also beautiful (I also made mine in a greased and floured bundt pan -- which I highly recommend). The baking time is the same for both pans. However, you will have about twice as much glaze as you need if you use a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
Perfectly delicious, however, not very pretty. I'm a teacher who LOVES to bake, and I'm known around my school for being a great baker.:-) I made this cake for my administrator who just had a baby...you know, my boss who I really want to impress.:-) It wasn't quite done at 40 minutes, so it needs longer to cook. I baked it in a 9x13 glass dish. This cake would likely be much prettier in a bundt pan, so I will try that next time. Its taste is to DIE for, even with the full cup of brown sugar. Wow! Serve it warm with ice cream and oh my, you have yourself an exquisite dessert. Pretty, no, so probably not a cake you'd want to take to someone you were trying to really impress. Delicious, heck yes, so I guess it depends on your audience. Good luck! Ally
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I've made this recipe before, with some substitutions. I am only rating it 2 stars, hoping to draw attention to my review, because at the risk of sounding presumptuous, I think it may help lessen some of the negative reviews, following this one, in the long run . I have made this cake once and, somehow, despite several substitutions, it turned out beautifully. It is a very good recipe. HOWEVER, here is a BIG ISSUE: Presumably, due to our current economic woes, manufacturers of cake mixes have begun cutting back on the amount of mix that was standard for most cake mixes, the 18.25 oz., such as this recipe and many other recipes call for. And they have instead reduced the actual amount in their boxes to 15.25 ounces. Word has it they are adding in just enough leavening ingredients to make the cakes manifest to the same size, but which produces a cake much different than the way it would have turned out, had consumers been aware of the changes. And the boxes themselves aren't that much smaller, thus fooling the average consumer into thinking they are still getting the same amount of cake mix for the same price. Since this recipe calls for an 18.25 oz. box of mix, double-check that the mix you get is the same amount. Otherwise, recipes that would normally work, won't, unless adjusted. Some premium brand mixes still make mixes in the 18.25 oz. size, as well as some generic brands, or so I've heard. But just thought I'd interject this info, if it helps. Anyway, 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meleah
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
everyone at my family BBQ love it! the only thing i did different is i made them into cupcakes to make it easy to pick up and go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CoOkInGnUt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elk City, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
I made this cake the other day.. my husband and i LOVED it. i made it a bit more low fat by playing around with the ingedients. i used 4 ounces sour cream, a little motts container of applesauce and a low fat vanilla pudding cup to make up for the 4 ounces of missing sour cream. i also left out the vegetable oil. (i like to experiment when i cook :) ) it turned out wonderful.. its a moist wet cake.. the brown sugar in the middle was definatly what made it yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Stephens

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
This is a classic cake recipe that has been around for many years. It has stood the test of time simply because it's that good, that easy, and makes your kitchen smell wonderful too. A tried and true cake that I know good cooks will still be making for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
Where I come from in Mississippi, this is called a "Sock It to Me" cake. It is divine, and so unbelievably easy! My husband asks for it every year on his birthday (and several times a year between birthdays!) You WILL NOT regret making this cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allison125

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
One word describes this cake--heavenly. I've made the cake twice so far. The first time I followed the recipe. The second time I reduced the amount of brown sugar to 3/4 cup instead of 1 whole cup. It was still enough to cover the cake but it didn't make it overly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 799) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States