Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
This was easy to put together, but I am just not a boxed cake woman.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robcangel

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I have now made this twice in three days. The first time I made it exactly according to the recipe in a bundt pan. I did not have any difficulties as did previous reviewers with it being too moist. I brought it to a function at work and my coworkers referred to it as the "evil cake"- evil for diets and waistlines that is! I did find it to be too sweet however. It tasted like the cake mix. The second time I made it I substituted vanilla yogurt for the sour cream and applesauce for the 1/2 the oil. I also reduced the brown sugar to 3/4 cup. My 3 year old said it tasted like monkey bread! Will be making it again for it's convenience and versatility. Think next time I may try with blueberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
This is EXCELLENT! Friends dropped in unexpectedly for morning coffee, and I didn't have anything in the house to offer them, so I stirred this up. It was so fast and easy-- and so good! I cut the brown sugar down to three-quarters of a cup as other reviewers suggested, and only made half the frosting because I thought the cake would be sweet enough. Everyone raved. One friend said it was like something from an expensive bakery, which it was. I'll make this again. I'd give it ten stars if possible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
This cake was easy to make and very good. I didn' t make any changes to the cake and my co-workers loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vicky's_Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Super simple and amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleystorie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Madison, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
Yum! Really does taste like a honey bun. I don't put all of the glaze on it. Only about half, with even a little less milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Cooks
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Everybody raved about this cake when I brought it to a dinner party - everybody wanted seconds (and thirds)! I was out of sour cream so I used buttermilk instead (1 cup of skim milk with 1 Tbs of vinegar) and it worked just fine. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was one of my Mom's favorite cakes to make--this is a really good recipe but next time I'll cut the brown sugar down to 1/2 or 3/4 cup and either half the glaze or try the cinnabon icing recipe. I'm an extreme sweet lover but this one was a little too sweet even for me without the changes mentioned. My cake was great and very moist but about half the height of a normal cake--did use a bundt pan which I like better than the 9 x 13 pan I've used in the past.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise
Home Town: Anderson, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Everyone loved this cake. Unfortunately, I used dark brown sugar though. Next time I will use regular brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vikki Cabral

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
This cake is so good and so moist. I added a little water to thin the batter some. But my family and my coworkers had a fit over it. I have been asked to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 801) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States