Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I made this cake for thanksgiving 2012 and everyone loved it........only thing is that it was hard to cut (kind of fell apart, but we loved every bit of it).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
As I was paging through my Allrecipe recipe box, I was shocked that I never reviewed this Honey bun cake. This is a tried and true recipe in my house. My son asks me to make this for his birthday every year and sometimes it is just a Sunday dessert. Even my chocolate-cake-only lover husband has started in on it. Love this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lorna129

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
So moist & delicious!!! The best part of a Danish without the dried out edges. Perfect for a brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I've made this recipe before, with some substitutions. I am only rating it 2 stars, hoping to draw attention to my review, because at the risk of sounding presumptuous, I think it may help lessen some of the negative reviews, following this one, in the long run . I have made this cake once and, somehow, despite several substitutions, it turned out beautifully. It is a very good recipe. HOWEVER, here is a BIG ISSUE: Presumably, due to our current economic woes, manufacturers of cake mixes have begun cutting back on the amount of mix that was standard for most cake mixes, the 18.25 oz., such as this recipe and many other recipes call for. And they have instead reduced the actual amount in their boxes to 15.25 ounces. Word has it they are adding in just enough leavening ingredients to make the cakes manifest to the same size, but which produces a cake much different than the way it would have turned out, had consumers been aware of the changes. And the boxes themselves aren't that much smaller, thus fooling the average consumer into thinking they are still getting the same amount of cake mix for the same price. Since this recipe calls for an 18.25 oz. box of mix, double-check that the mix you get is the same amount. Otherwise, recipes that would normally work, won't, unless adjusted. Some premium brand mixes still make mixes in the 18.25 oz. size, as well as some generic brands, or so I've heard. But just thought I'd interject this info, if it helps. Anyway, 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meleah
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My whole family liked it. I made in a bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAGGIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I had company for a few days and made this for breakfast. It was absolutely delicious and easy to make. Everyone loved it, and yes, it does taste like honey buns, but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I give this 5 stars for taste and ease of preparation. I made it according to the recipe and only took one reviewers suggestion and added 1 tsp. vanilla and 1/2 tsp. brandy extract. I only made 1/2 the glaze...it was more than enough. Tasted it while still a bit warm....yummy! I will make this one again, probably to serve as a breakfast cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Great recipe! I followed another reviewers (CaleyCat) suggestion and made the "cake mix" from scratch, as I don't typically have cake mixes on hand. (2 1/3 c. flour, 1 tbl. baking powder, 3/4 tsp. salt, 1 1/2 c. white sugar & 1/2 c. shortening. Sift together dry ing. & add shortening until crumbly in nature. Then follow the recipe as is). I subbed natural yogurt for the sour cream (that's what I had available). Very nice cake. Extra special with it's warm! Don't forget the icing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
Wasn't that impressed with this recipe, while my sibling loved it, still just tasted like a yellow cake with some cinnamon and pecans. Glad I tried it though, just wished it turned out better. : /
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
EXCELLENT!! Light and delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Lake Mills, Iowa, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States