Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
This cake tasted OK but very sweet. It says not to spray the pan which ended in a mess. Half the cake was on the top of the bunt pan. It turned out to look like a coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer11203

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Kids loved it - didn't last long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Boo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This cake is hazardous to your health! Holy cow it's so good I can't quit eating it! I took the leftovers to work so I wouldn't eat it ALL! I DID make it in a bundt pan with no problems at all. I thoroughly coated the pan with home-made 'cake release' (equal parts cooking oil, shortening and flour), only let it cool in the pan for only about 20 minutes, and it came right out. Beautiful too. I used 1/2 light sour cream and might try making with applesauce instead of oil (just to help with those pesky calories and fat!) But is is WONDERFUL as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
Excellent! Sooo yummy! I used Butter Pecan cake mix instead and it still turned out great. It was a hit at our family gathering. I did butter the bottom of the pan before adding the mix. Will definitely make again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Cake tastes great, if it would turn out. Twice now I have tried it, and it turns to a pile of solid mush. Way too many liquids (sour cream, eggs, oil). I just took those elements out and made it--turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valleycook111

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagan, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
I was amazed at the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: New Brighton, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
I make this in a 9x13 pan and it's delicious!!! Just like a honeybun, big hit! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Easy to make and tastes awesome. Wouldn't make it too often, though. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
A favorite at my table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melbourne Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
I totally pirated this recipe. What came out was really good, especially the next day- nuke it for 15 seconds, it's so yummy. First, I only used 1/3 c. oil, I replaced the sour cream with 2/3 c. fat free sour cream & 1/3 c. fat free plain yogurt. I added 1/2 c. applesauce to make the cake moist since it lacks the extra oil. That's the only changes to the cake. I did put it in a nonstick bundt pan sprayed with Baker's Joy and baked at 350, not 325 for 40 mins. It came out beautifully and smelled awesome. Instead of the glaze, I made my own with 2 tbls butter, 2/3 c. brown sugar, & 1/3 c. water heated until boiling, then off the heat I added 1/4 c. whiskey very slowly. I poured it over the warm cake. So good, but even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jpm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 805) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States