Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I made this cake exactly as instructed and, while I find it to be delicious in its own way, it doesn't taste like a honey bun. I think that the cinnamon dominates the cake. It's a good thing I love that spice! It reminds me of a coffee cake more than anything. I will make this again, but next time, I won't use a packaged cake mix. The generic flavor of it took away from the great potential of this cake, in my opinion. Completely scratch made will be the way to go with this recipe to make it superb. But if you're in a pinch for time & just want something good to put on the table or take to an event, this will do fine. I made mine in a greased & floured bundt pan and it came out absolutely beautiful. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Loved by all who tasted (as stated)! Thank you:) served with homemade vanilla ice cream as dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This cake is the BOMB!!! I make it in a 9x13 pan and bake at 325 for 40 minutes and it is truly the best! Eat it warm or rewarmed - should be in a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danica Hicks
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe is fabulous. The housed melt great as it was baking. The next day when we sliced it I was thinking this better be good and it was. My husband couldn't stop eating it. This is a definite keeper. As as the frosting is concerned I only used 3 tabs of milk and it was just "runny" enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Awesome cake, followed recipe exactly. Didn't last through the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Only change I made was added about 2 ounces of cream cheese to the icing. This cake taste like a cinnamon roll more than a honey bun. But the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I was a little concerned when I read some of the reviews about the cake not working out for them. I followed the recipe exactly and cooked in a bundt pan. I cooked for a total of 55 minutes and it was cooked to perfection. I did not make the icing as I just used a sprinkling of conf. sugar. Not sure if this tastes anything like a Honey Bun cake as I have never had one, but the cake was very enjoyable although rather on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I made this for a friend's birthday. It was a Sunday afternoon & this is a really nice cake for a brunch because it kind of tastes like a cinnamon roll. It was a big hit. Several people said it was their new favorite cake. I made it in a bundt pan so it came out really pretty too! Took about an hour to bake, not 40 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
My family loved this cake. I ate mine with coffee in the morning and it was really nice. I made the glaze and added a little cinnamon and only one teaspoon of vanilla. I made it in two loaf pans and it made two nice loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthie0404

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I also made this in a bundt pan and found I had to add about 8 more minutes to the time. I layered batter and cinnamon/sugar topping as suggested by another reviewer. I also added 2 1/2 ounces of cream cheese to the icing. It made it soooo much better!!! It took away some of the sweetness and added a richness instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 807) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States