Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Awesome cake, followed recipe exactly. Didn't last through the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Only change I made was added about 2 ounces of cream cheese to the icing. This cake taste like a cinnamon roll more than a honey bun. But the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I was a little concerned when I read some of the reviews about the cake not working out for them. I followed the recipe exactly and cooked in a bundt pan. I cooked for a total of 55 minutes and it was cooked to perfection. I did not make the icing as I just used a sprinkling of conf. sugar. Not sure if this tastes anything like a Honey Bun cake as I have never had one, but the cake was very enjoyable although rather on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
I made this for a friend's birthday. It was a Sunday afternoon & this is a really nice cake for a brunch because it kind of tastes like a cinnamon roll. It was a big hit. Several people said it was their new favorite cake. I made it in a bundt pan so it came out really pretty too! Took about an hour to bake, not 40 minutes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
My family loved this cake. I ate mine with coffee in the morning and it was really nice. I made the glaze and added a little cinnamon and only one teaspoon of vanilla. I made it in two loaf pans and it made two nice loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruthie0404

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Titusville, Florida, USA
Living In: Woodstock, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
Absolutely delicious! I also made this in a bundt pan and found I had to add about 8 more minutes to the time. I layered batter and cinnamon/sugar topping as suggested by another reviewer. I also added 2 1/2 ounces of cream cheese to the icing. It made it soooo much better!!! It took away some of the sweetness and added a richness instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
This cake is good, my 8 year old son loves it, but i'm giving it 2 stars because whoever posted the recipe must have been, um, never mind, but... 1 tablespoon of vanilla? Nope!! Don't even go there. Cook time says one hour, but then "bake in the oven for 40 minutes". Make up your mind. Also, show a pic of a bunt cake, but tell me to use an ungreased 9x13 glass baking dish. The cake was not as good as it should have been, as the cook time was TOTALLY unclear and overdone, and the icing, I had to pour it out and start over using 1 TEASPOON of vanilla and THAT was still way too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I am the cook for our family and am 14 1/2 years old. This was soooo good! I didn't have any sour cream, so I made sour milk instead. I also used a bundt cake like some people suggested. I am definitely making this again??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Palm Coast, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2010
I've made this cake several times and there is never any left. This a one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
I made this exactly as directed and the cake turned out fabulous!!! I took this cake to the in-laws for Mother's Day and everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 803) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States