Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
I got many compliments! i used 3/8 c applesauce and 3/8 c canola oil, which worked well and made it even more moist! used light sour cream, which was fine. also cut brown sugar back to 3/4 c. i split it into two 9" cake pans, baking time was about the same. tried to layer the two (after icing each side) and it fell apart a little, but still tasted wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Couldn't decide if this was a 4 or 5 star... my husband gave it a 5, for me it was a 4 just based on preference. The one recommendation - don't bother with the frosting... the cake is plenty sweet without the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was a great cake. I took it to a church potluck and everyone raved about it. I was talking with a group of people as they told me how wonderful the cake was, that it was the best cake ever. Our leader came up and said, "what the Honey Bun Cake?", then he turned to me and said, "see all I heard was 'the best cake' and I knew it was the Honey Bun Cake". It was moist and delicious. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2010
I made this cake exactly as instructed and, while I find it to be delicious in its own way, it doesn't taste like a honey bun. I think that the cinnamon dominates the cake. It's a good thing I love that spice! It reminds me of a coffee cake more than anything. I will make this again, but next time, I won't use a packaged cake mix. The generic flavor of it took away from the great potential of this cake, in my opinion. Completely scratch made will be the way to go with this recipe to make it superb. But if you're in a pinch for time & just want something good to put on the table or take to an event, this will do fine. I made mine in a greased & floured bundt pan and it came out absolutely beautiful. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenzie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chatham, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Loved by all who tasted (as stated)! Thank you:) served with homemade vanilla ice cream as dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpgFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This cake is the BOMB!!! I make it in a 9x13 pan and bake at 325 for 40 minutes and it is truly the best! Eat it warm or rewarmed - should be in a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
This recipe is fabulous. The housed melt great as it was baking. The next day when we sliced it I was thinking this better be good and it was. My husband couldn't stop eating it. This is a definite keeper. As as the frosting is concerned I only used 3 tabs of milk and it was just "runny" enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Awesome cake, followed recipe exactly. Didn't last through the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mackenziegrove

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
Only change I made was added about 2 ounces of cream cheese to the icing. This cake taste like a cinnamon roll more than a honey bun. But the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
I was a little concerned when I read some of the reviews about the cake not working out for them. I followed the recipe exactly and cooked in a bundt pan. I cooked for a total of 55 minutes and it was cooked to perfection. I did not make the icing as I just used a sprinkling of conf. sugar. Not sure if this tastes anything like a Honey Bun cake as I have never had one, but the cake was very enjoyable although rather on the sweet side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 800) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States