Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2015
Fantastic exactly as it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Burnett
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This is quick and easy to prepare, and I made it in a bundt pan as other reviewers suggested. It makes a beautiful cake that is wonderfully moist. I would cut back a little on the cinnamon as I found it too aggressive though, but everyone still enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I was super excited to make this cake last night, since I have never had a honey bun cake and it sounded delish. I followed the recipe almost exact except for: I baked it in a smaller glass pan since the cake mix I got was 15oz, I used about 2/3 cup of the brown sugar mix, but next time I'll just use 1/2 cup because it was ALMOST too sweet, and I cut the icing in half since I used a smaller pan, also, I sprayed the baking dish with pam because I was afraid the cake would stick. I let the cake cool completely before drizzling the icing on top so the heat from the cake didn't make it a melted uniform thin coating. I tried it soon after drizzling the icing and I was actually disappointed and agreed with the negative reviews saying it tasted like yellow cake mix and sugar, but I had a piece this afternoon and with the icing hardened and cake completely cool, the flavors come together muuuch better! Also, I thought, "Soo where does the 'Honey' part come into play?...well I lightly drizzled honey on top with the icing and it just adds to it, presentation wise and taste too! This will go great with my morning cup of Joe...might not make it in the near future, but it's pretty frickin' good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missvega88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Wow, so good. I did not add the glaze because I felt the cake was sweet and yummy enough without it. Used cheap yellow cake mix and light sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
This recipe needs no icing. Great as a bundt cake. Sprinkle a little of the sugar swirl in the bottom of the pan to create a nice crunch on top. Add chopped pecans to the sugar before swirling. So yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
Absolutely amazing!!!!!! I have used this website for years and have never written a review but I had to for this cake. I made it for thanksgiving as some of my guests don't really like pie or any traditional thanksgiving desserts. Once one person tried it and word go around the house at how delicious it was this cake was gone in minutes!!!! The only bad thing I can say is I wish I had made two. This will forever be my go to. Although not as pretty as some other cakes I've made. The taste is just amazing. Try it you will fall in love too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liliana Cepa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Very moist but just too sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by King Stephon Hayden
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Wonderful recipe... Tastes just like a honey bun delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by King Stephon Hayden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Family thought this was awesome!!! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
Made this recipe except only substitution I used was 1/2 regular brown sugar with 1/2 Splenda brown sugar. Came out wonderful. My whole family loves it. We will be making this a lot in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 807) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Kitty Litter Cake

A perfect cake for April Fools' Day or Halloween.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States