Honey Bun Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Delicious! Made it for our company who completely devoured the cake. Caution should be used to not over mix it as the longer you mix it, even by hand, the more flaky the cake becomes and I was aiming for a slightly denser cake. Very good, I will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUTTERCUP_CA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ronan, Montana, USA
Living In: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I'm giving this four stars only because the cake completely fell apart. It is a delicious cake, but we had to eat it out of a bowl instead of enjoying it like a real cake. We will make it again, but I don't think I would take this to a dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
My son LOVED this. He said it tasted similar to, but much better than, the Little Debbie honey buns I used to buy when he was a kid. The only change I made was to decrease the amount of oil by a couple tablespoons because the cake mix I used was only 16.5 ounces (the new size). I also decreased the amount of powdered sugar to 1-1/2 cup and used only 3 tablespoons milk. I used the whole 1 tablespoon of vanilla, but I would cut back on the vanilla to 1 or 2 teaspoons the next time I make this, especially since I use less powdered sugar. My oven bakes everything fast, so my cake was perfectly done in 28 minutes, but 40 minutes seems long. I would recommend starting to test the cake at 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I have made this cake too many times to count. I'm adding to the reviews because I feel like it's the least I can do considering how many times this cake has made me look good. I've done cupcakes, which were a little more work, spooning batter into each cupcake, sprinkling the brown sugar/cinnamon mix in the center and topping each with batter, but they were as good as the larger cakes. I only use DH butter recipe golden. I've tried other cake mixes and I've shared the recipe with others who accused me of leaving out a "secret" ingredient. It's the cake mix. No other cake mix makes this cake taste as good. I baked it for a friend once who pretended she'd made it herself. When her co worker asked her to bake one for her, she asked me to make another one!! Really??? I gave her the recipe but I don't think she made it. Nobody believes this cake can be as good as it is and easy too. It is!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
Not only was this easy, it was also very delicious. It does not taste like a cake mix. I did not change the recipe at all, but I did use a bundt pan and sprayed it with nonstick cooking spray in order to take it out of the pan while warm. Thank you for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Made this for husband, he is very particular about the taste of homemade desserts, he loved it, will make it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Loved it! I reduced sugar by using less than 1/2 cup brown sugar Splenda, and instead of sour cream used whole milk with 1 1/2 tab lemon juice. Half the frosting. Decreased oil. It's wonderful. Carmen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
I was looking for a drizzle top icing for another bundt cake I made. I used this recipe's icing ingredients and the measurements I think are wrong. I believe the 4 tablespoons of milk is probably right, but the 1 tablespoon of vanilla probably is 1 tsp. When I used all 5 tablespoons of the liquid ingredients (including the vanilla) it was literally like a runny soup. I had to add another 2 cups of confectionary sugar to get it to the right consistency! yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
FYI--if your cake mix is a 15.25 oz, you can either use 7/8 of everything or just throw everything together! Although I did use 3 eggs instead of 4. I used a bundt cake pan, and this was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
The family RAVED about this one. It's a keeper for sure. Thanks so much for sharing this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 792) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States