Honey Brown Rolls or Loaves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Hi Ser, Thanks for the receipe. I made these rolls and I must say they were wonderful. The only change I made to the recipe was 1/2 cup vital wheat gluten flour, cut down on the bread flour by 1/2 cup and instead of honey I used Agave Nectar. Thanks again for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was a FANTASTIC recipe. If your buns/loaves came out too dense, that means you didn't allow them to rise properly. These were light, and airy and perfect with soup. :) Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BriannaH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I made this by hand rather than using a machine. I added the yeast to the sugar and warm water and let it proof a bit. Then I added the honey and let it finish proofing. Next I mixed in the butter, instant coffee and cocoa, gluten and salt. Using a wooded spoon I mixed in the 2 cups of bread flour. I then added a little more than 1 ½ cups of wheat flour to get the dough to the consistency. I turned it out and kneaded it for 5 or 6 minutes. I let the dough rise for about an hour in the oven with a bowl of hot water underneath it. This makes my cool oven just slightly warm and humid for a good rise. After rising for about an hour, just punch down and turn out the dough and shape into balls. Back to the oven we go for a little over 30 minutes to finish rising. Bake at 350 for about 20 minutes as directed or until slightly brown. They turned out just fantastic, soft with a nice light chewy center. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marsha Lea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I do not have a bread machine to make this recipe, I used my Kitchen Aid mixer. I think that any good bread recipe can be easily adapted to be made by hand. I proofed the yeast with the warm water (that I dissolved the coffee granules into), yeast, sugar and honey for ten minutes until the yeast "bloomed", then added the melted butter and all the dry ingredients. I do NOT have bread flour, just regular AP flour. I did not need the vital wheat gluten. This dough was REALLY wet, it took another 1 1/4-1/2 cups AP flour to get it to form a ball that I could knead with my dough hook. I kneaded it for five minutes with the dough hook, then set it to rise in a greased bowl on a warm heating pad for a couple hours. I then formed it into large rolls and set the formed rolls into greased muffin tins (one 12-cup muffin tin was just right for me), then covered it with saran wrap and let it rise for 45 minutes on the warm heating pad. After the rolls were done, I brushed them with vegetable oil for tender tops. I did not sprinkle the tops with sesame seeds as I didn't have any. I think this recipe is a good recipe, I know she was going for a knockoff of the Outback's bread--and it's very close. Very chewy roll recipe with a nice fluffy interior. I think it's a good bread recipe today but the flavors will be even better the next day. I think it's a little too sweet for me now but that might mellow by tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This was my first attempt at baking bread ever. SOOOOO time consuming but these rolls turned out very good. I follow the recipe exactly. I was a little worried when I let it sit for 30 minutes on the baking sheet and the rolls didn't rise, but they turned out delicious. Will be enjoying them with homemade chicken soup (if the BF hasn't eaten them all before I get home).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Great flavor, but a little more dense than we prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This adapted very well to using my KA mixer. Proofed the yeast (1 pkt of active dry yeast) in warm water (110 degrees F) for about 10 minutes until it reached foamy stage, and then added melted butter, instant coffee (to dissolve) and honey to the water and stirred it up. I mixed together 1 cup of bread flour, 2/3 cup wheat flour, sugar, salt, vital wheat gluten and the cocoa; added this to the mixer bowl and started mixing at a low speed. Then gradually added the remaining 2 cups of flours to reach the right consistency and kneaded for about 4 minutes. Dumped into an oiled bowl and let rise for about an hour. I then formed into rolls and let rise for about another 45 minutes, brushed on an egg wash, and then into the oven. These soft rolls (definitely not dense) baked up beautifully with a nice flavor and chewy texture. They were just a little doughy in the center, but that could be just a matter of difference in oven temperatures. Next time I will bake for an additional 5 minutes. The recipe ingredients were spot on, and I did not have to add additional flour. I've not yet baked a lot of rolls and bread, but these rank right up there with the best so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Definitely needs more flour. I used my bread machine and with the exact measurements and yep - a gooey mess. I tried adding more flour on the cutting board, and managed to scoop some globs onto a greased baking sheet and let "rise" in a warm oven. Baked according to directions and the end result was edible and not bad tasting at all! :) I would still like to have the fluffy round rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
the rolls turned out ok but both myself and my family don't like the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was a gooey mess!!! I thought I could kneed it myself but NOT. I followed the recipe and instructions exactly. I'll be interested to read others' reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

How to Make Herb Pull Apart Rolls

See how to make pull-apart rolls flavored with thyme, oregano, and dill.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States