Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia City, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Perfect! I rarely fry anything but my husband favors fried chicken over any other, so I decided to give this a try. The only thing I tweaked was to cut all salt ingredients in half. The breasts were huge and I too was worried about doneness all the way through. No problem! Very moist and flavorful throughout. This will definitely be my "go too" recipe for boneless breast halves. Well worth the prep time too. We both loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2015
Amazing - even with 3 different things changed. 1. I did not have any buttermilk ready so thinned down some greek yogurt with milk and soaked them for about 20 min. 2. I also accidentally grabbed some marmalade and added 1 Tbsp to the brine before realizing. Left it in and still added 2 heaping Tbsp of honey. Do not believe it changed a thing. 3. As some other reviewers did, I used powders not salted for the garlic and onion. And I too was a bit worried about the length of time to fry chicken breasts that were not flattened or halved but felt I had to trust Chef John's judgement especially seeing as he specifically mentioned it would work! IT DID!!! Absolutely delish with the thin (not burnt and NOT greasy!) fried coating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRAGNLAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This recipe is good. We followed it except let the brine sit for 6 hours and it came out perfect! We paired it with Chef John's marble potatoes. 5/5 Stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
My kids and husband love this recipe. I did make the mistake once of leaving them in the brine longer than an hour and they were too salty. Also, the smaller the piece of chicken, the less time needed to brine it seems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
The honey tastes great. I like the sweet and salty flavor of the dish. I would like it better with less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This is my first review here. This turned out soooo good that I had to comment on it. I had 3 chicken breasts, and used 1/8C kosher salt in the brine. I cut the chicken into strips before soaking in buttermilk. I used on- hand ingredients for my breading: Italian bread crumbs, garlic powder, onion powder, smoked paprika and Season All. I fried in butter shortening/olive oil and turned once. Seriously the most delicious chicken I've ever had. My daughter, who is not fond of chicken, LOVED this. So did my husband. They were happy to hear this would be in the dinner rotation on a regular basis. For me, I'll never pine for KFC or any other fried chicken again. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
Chef John's comment about boneless skinless breast halves and their lack of inspiration immediately caught my attention. Not sure how it happens, but this recipe is amazing -- the meat was incredibly moist, and the flavor, scrumptious. The whole family raved about them right before returning for seconds. A new favorite, for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by romy jean-pierre
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
This chicken was ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS!!!!!! Yum yum yum!!! I followed the direction almost exactly as instructed. I added a little paprika, and cumin to the flour mix and the result was amazing. It came out tender on the inside and a bit crispy on the outside. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
This is fantastic! I use it all the time & the whole family loves it. I have one question for anyone who is savvy about nutritional content...My dad needs to watch his sodium intake, but I really want to make this for him. I usually use granulated garlic & onion powder instead of the onion salt & garlic salt. Does anyone know how that changes the (very high) sodium level in this recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paige Rappleye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States