Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 9, 2012
Chef John (note the chef title) is able to fry a large chicken breast without it turning black. I, however, know my limitations. I decided to cut the breast into medallions to enhance my chances of having a dish that was edible. Other than that slight change, I made the recipe exactly as instructed. This is a great recipe. The chicken had wonderful flavor was very moist and absolutely perfect served on greens. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 11, 2012
So juicy and delicious! Will use this over and over again! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Wow! This was wonderful. I followed exactly with the exception of substituting half-and-half for the buttermilk (I had some I wanted to use up). I was a little afraid I would burn them to a crisp, as my chicken breasts were pretty big, but I just turned them a couple of times and they turned out well. This is definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Amazing recipe! Followed it exactly.. Except added extra seasoning to the flour mixture. Highly recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mreece2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salinas, California, USA
Living In: Vacaville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2012
Such an excellent recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2012
It's sometimes risky trusting internet recipes, but this is a definite winner. I subbed breast tenders for breasts, 2% for buttermilk, and garlic and onion powders for garlic and onion salts. Because I used tenders, I cut the brine ingredients in half and soaked the chicken for 30 min instead of 1 hr. I would suggest that you stay very conscious of the brine. Even though I cut my soaking time in half, my chicken ended up just a tad salty. Granted, I subbed the buttermilk and I didn't dry my chicken COMPLETELY post-brine. I'd say it's definitely safer to sub garlic and onion POWDERS for salts, and just keep salt at the table. At any rate this is a fantastic recipe on its own (and I imagine it makes a great template as well). Thanks, Chef John! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
This chicken was awesome. I followed the recipes with one minor change, I only used 1/8 c kosher salt. Turned out perfect, moist and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
Great recipe. Moist and flavorful. Was a bit skidish about the salt so cut the brine soak time to 45 mins and sub'd garlic & onion powder for garlic & onion salt. Only other comment is recipe says "Ready In: 25 Min" Well... an hour to soak in the brine, 15 mins to soak in the milk, 15 mins to "dry", 30 - 40 mins in the pan... This is a couple of hours project... Oh well - Worth the effort...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by piper_says
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Wow! This recipe is fabulous! It didn't turn out the way I was expecting. I thought it would end up a little sweet, like my favorite Tyson honey-battered chicken strips... not so much. It was still delicious, though! I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't dry the chicken after I dredged it. Also, I used scallopines from Sprout's, so it cooked really quickly and didn't get overdone on the outside or dry out. Also, I used fat free regular milk instead of the buttermilk. Really a wonderful recipe for fried chicken that is easy and doesn't take too long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by piper_says

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
What a surprisingly tasty way to prepare the ever tasteless,dry boneless skinless chicken breast!! I found it to be easy as well!! I will use this recipe over and over and even play with variations since im sure there are plenty of ways to do so! Thank you for making me a star in my home tonite! My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori Fujimoto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States