Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This chicken is delicious! Next time, though, I will cut back on the salt in the brine by half. Also, the prep time that Chef John notes does not account for all of the resting time, which is about 1.5 hours including brining.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Wondering if you can put this in the oven? time and temp? anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I think perhaps a lot of people don't know why "kosher" or occasionally "sea salt" is specified in recipes. Particularly for brining, the point is that you do NOT want iodized salt, which most table salt is. They should say "non-iodized salt". Evidently it is felt that an unhealthy amount of iodine would leach into the water and thus into the brining meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
My family and I loved this Chicken! I read some of the reviews before I started and listened. I did use 1/4 cup Kosher salt and know that useing table salt in a brine can make a huge difference in flavor. So I did brine for a hour, but still did not use salt in the flour. Mainly because I don't have "salted" garlic and onion powder and added paprika also. I did pound out the chicken breast (they were really thick) to about 1&1/2" for a more even cook time. As far as the sticking goes, I started with a professional pan that can be put in the oven and the chix stuck. So I switched to a non-stick pan, no sticking! The dish turned out PERFECT. I severed it with roasted russet and sweet potatoes, baked beans and grilled corn. A+ Dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
"The nutrition data for this recipe includes the full amount of the brine ingredients. The actual amount of the brine consumed will vary." Apparently the reviewers citing the sodium content don't know how to read. Most brining doesn't consume much of the brine - similar to marinating. Marinade content would be appalling if completely consumed as well much of the time - but most of it ends up thrown away, as the meat absorbs only a little. Didn't have buttermilk, so used 2% milk, it still came out just fine. I also pounded the breasts to an even thickness to avoid my usual issue of the thin part overcooking while the thick part is still pink. Works well for b/s pork chops as well- had a loin I couldn't think of anything special for, cut it into 1/2 inch thickness, and followed the rest. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Excellent! I didn't measure but used my eye, however, it turned out great and the whole family was impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Chef John, this dish is one of the many reasons you are my favorite Chef. This dish is 5 star awesome! Prepared exactly as your video, it was easy and everyone absolutely, hands down loved every bite! Even my picky eaters ate every bit and wanted more. *I also prepared it using Gluten Free Bisquick instead of flour, onion powder instead of onion salt & Canola oil instead of vegetable. PERFECT! THIS IS A MUST MAKE DISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Not enough water for that large amount of chicken, but absolutely the moistest wonderful chicken. The salt water brine is the trick to making the moistest chicken,turkey or any other meat whether you bake. broil, roast, grill, or fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
can you leave off breading and put on grill better than frying
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
The family loved the juiciness of the meat. I used drumsticks, and they turned out good each time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

How to Make Buttermilk Fried Chicken

Chef John’s buttermilk fried chicken is impossibly crispy and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States