Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
This was my first attempt at fried chicken and it came out amazing! My dad wanted to know if we could have it once a week. I did increase the recipe by 1/2 (2 extra chicken breasts) and so had to do two batches. The only change I made was to skip the cayenne and use only a dash of black pepper as I'm not really a fan of it's aggressiveness. For us the seasoning was perfect, well salted but not overly so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2014
This is the first fried chicken I've made that turned out well. Seems to be much easier to get the breasts cooked through before the crust burns than with bone in chicken pieces. I followed the directions closely with the exception of seasonings in the flour. I made some additions and it it turned out great. Followed the brining instructions to a T and it wasn't overly salty at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nate Handy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
A little salty. Will definitely make again but will add less salt to the flour. Very moist and tender!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
This was delicious! Everyone loved it and wanted to know how the breast stayed so moist. A definite keeper. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Like many of the other reviewers I brined the whole chicken then cut it into pieces, did everything else exactly like the recipe called for and it was amazing, cant wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I have been an unimpressed critic of Chef John's recipes in those I've tried to date but this one offered me fresh hope. It is simple perfection. In fact, it has been awhile since I've tried a recipe that has impressed me as much as this one has. The meat is unusually tender and juicy and immensely rich and flavorful, the coating a crunchy complement - the two partnering into something mouthwatering good. I would only suggest that the chicken is only as good as what you choose to season it with, and that could be a variety of choices. I used Lawry's Seasoned Salt and Monterey Steak Seasoning. I want some more. (Note: A splatter screen when frying reduces mess and clean-up considerably)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Very good fried chicken, especially for skinless! This is my first time making fried chicken. I made this for someone with severe food allergies, so I altered the recipe to fit my needs. I used brown rice flour in place of the AP flour as well as made my own buttermilk with rice milk. I doubled the onion and garlic, using powder for both and just put in regular salt- I don't use garlic or onion salt. The brown rice flour fried up beautifully. I think it even adds to the crispiness of the chicken. I will definitely make this again, perhaps using some maple syrup in the brine in place of the honey and adding some hot sauce to the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
We've had this twice and loved it. First time I used the exact ingredients, but it was a bit on the salty side. Today I used onion salt and garlic powder. The result was less salty, but next time I'm going to stick with onion powder and garlic powder. It is well worth the time and effort and for an old lady with arthritis in her feet that's saying a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Usually my fried boneless breasts come out dry and hard. That wasn't the case with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Honey-Brined Fried Chicken Breasts

See how to make crispy fried chicken that’s lighter with less fat!

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States