Honey Brie Spread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Peach
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
I made this as an appetizer for Valentines Day. I modified it a teeny bit as I used a smaller Brie wheel and sliced it in half spreading apricot preserves and pecans in the middle. Wrapped in 8 oz pkg of the crescent roll, gave it a egg wash, and baked it for 15 minutes, THEN added the honey and pecans to the top and baked it for another 15 minutes. I served it with sliced granny smith apples and seedless green grapes & wheat crackers. My Date went nuts over it. I have never seen him dive into something like he did this. Easy to prepare, makes a beautiful presentation, and is unbelievably good. I will be keeping this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
So easy to make and everyone was so impressed. I used my own pastry, and omitted the nuts as I had none. I've made this twice now. The first time, I put the honey on the top, and it ran down the sides and burned the pan, the second time, I put the honey on the inside, and it worked much better. Stayed in the dough and tasted yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Five stars, though I did make a few changes off the bat. It's not that I didn't trust it--it's that I had dinner roll dough and not crescent roll dough. I used four Rhodes white Texas rolls (you could use six Rhodes white dinner rolls, too--it would come out to the same dough weight). I pressed the rolls together and rolled them out to a 9-10" circle. I drizzled the center with honey, sprinkled with walnuts, topped with the brie, and wrapped the dough around it. Placed seam-side down on the baking sheet, brushed with egg, drizzled with additional honey, sprinkled additional walnuts, and baked for 35 minutes or so. Healthier than crescent roll dough, and even picky husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef W

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
Baked brie is just good no matter what you do to it. I used a large wedge of cheese as my store didn't have any rounds. I baked it in a small casserole, topped with the honey and pecans. Omitted the dough part altogether...was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I used a wheel of brie with a hole in the center like a wreath. It took 2 cans of the crescent rolls to cover it. I covered it with foil halfway through the baking to keep it from burning. When I served it I put green grapes in the center and crackers and green apple slices around it. It was delicious and a beautiful presentation enjoyed by everyone. I thought it was best with the apple slices.. Yum! So easy and so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mission Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Absolutely, unbelievably delicious. When you cut into the outer crescent roll shell, the melted brie oozes out like hot lava. YUMMY! Tastes great on apples (better than on crackers). I'll DEFINITELY make this for get togethers! I used less honey and pecans than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
This is amazing! I took some of the advice from the others and put nuts and honey inside of the bread too. I also covered the dish so the honey didn't burn. You should serve this right away while it is still hot (but can be reheated 1/2 way through the party if needed - not as good as first time but will do the trick). LOVED it with the apples!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
This was a big hit at a dinner party I hosted. I used maple syrup instead of honey, and let the pecans & syrup spill onto the plate around the wrapped brie, so that when the cheese melted, it went had something to mix with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Super Yummy! I made this for Thanksgiving. It was a great table centerpiece for appetizers. Served with wheat thins but would have been great with warm pita.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Floral Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
I made this on Christmas as a pre dinner snack and it came out very delicious. I had some problem with the honey getting too hot and browning during the baking and had to change dishes and add the honey at the end. But I was using a toaster oven so it could just be my appliance. Very simple and tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

RITZ White Pizza Meatball Dip

See how to make the pizza meatball dip created by Lombardi's Pizza.

Holiday Brie en Croute

See how to make this special holiday appetizer.

Brie, Pear, and Black Pepper Appetizer

Try this simple cheese and fresh pear party snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States