Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I love this recipe. My husband even liked the muffins too! I did add 1/2 cup of dried apples and 1/2 cup of dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Yummy with no change to instructions. Used Bob's Red Mill Wheat Bran to avoid unwanted ingredients in processed cereals. Children not big fans. Will try with orange juice instead of pinapple next time and add orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Huge hit in my household and many others! I substituted whole wheat pastry flour, and used all-bran (blenderized in mu Cuisinart). Muffins stored well in the freezer & are perfect for a quick morning snack! Next time, I will use applesauce as a substitute for the oil, as I don't think it would take anything away from the delicious taste. Reccomend raisins and small chunks of apple. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Not impressed even though the texture was very good. I didn't expect it to be so light, fluffy, and moist . However, the flavors were really off. I know there is honey in the name, but I thought it would be like other recipes and just be a sweetener. The honey taste comeplely overwhelmed the taste of the muffin. There was no other taste but honey. It was like drinking honey from the bottle. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
Did not like the consistency of these at all. I followed the directions exactly. Was not very impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosie.salas06

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
These are the world's best bran muffins and the only ones my family will eat. We use store brand bran flakes, and crush it up with the bottom of a glass until it is crumbs. The important thing, though, is to substitute 1 cup of crushed pineapple for half the raisins and add about 1 cup pecans. Since I never have pineapple juice I put the rest of the can of pineapple & juice in the blender, add enough apple or orange juice to make 2 cups and then thoroughly pulverize it. If I can remember, I use less sugar because this muffin is really sweet. I bake them in a dark pan at 350 or in a silver-colored airbake pan at 400. Times will vary, but DON'T overbake and don't use muffin cup liners unless you plan on eating those too. The batter will keep for days in the refrigerator, to be used as needed Cooked muffins can be stored in a closed container for several days, or frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This is a good basic muffin but nothing to really scream over. The texture was rather chewy right out of the oven, but tasted much better after toasting in the toaster oven. I followed the recipe exactly except used cranberries instead of raisins. I couldn't taste the pineapple juice at all, which was disappointing. I also thought the batter was too sweet before baking, but it came out just right after it was cooked. I would make again, but I will continue to search for a recipe closer to Mimi's Cafe bran muffins. These were a bit bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
This recipe was absolutely fabulous! And sooo easy to make. I added pineapple to the first batch that I made and apples to the second. I think the next time I'll turn the oven down to 350 degrees and let them cook slower and longer. They were a little to brown. I love bran muffins and have had many of them, but this is my favorite thus far. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
Delicious and moist! I added cranberries instead of raisins. I also added walnuts for that extra crunch. It was a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRADOMG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
REALLY GREAT! I consider myself a bran-muffin connisure and these are great. Instead of pineapple juice I used Nantucket Nectars Peach Orange juice which ended up to be a very good choice. I also just used pure Oat Bran which I had a hard time figuring what a whole bran cereal is exactly but this worked out great. Grease your muffin holder with butter for an extra delicious addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States