Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
These are great! I used pineapple juice, three cups of raisin bran (raisins picked out, haha) and one cup of all bran cereal. I mushed the cereals up and let the batter sit overnight - baked in the morning for 18 min. I also did 1/4 cup of oil and 1/4 cup applesauce. I love the honey taste. Next time I'll sneak in a bit of whole wheat pastry flour or spelt flour :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Justus&Dane's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
These are way too sweet for me. I think it's the pineapple juice; might be better with apple juice or even orange juice. I was really confused about what type of cereal was specified. I ended up with Post spoon size shredded wheat n bran; this created interesting little pillows in the muffins. I probably should have cut up the pillows--it might have helped cut the too sweet taste. If I make again, I will also reduce the amount of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
delicious muffins. My family goobled them up!! I made the batter and put it in the fridge over night and made them in the morning for breakfast. Yummo~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
My family LOVED these muffins! I made the batter the night before and they were so easy and delicious! Thanks for a great, healthier recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I have a question. If you make jumbo muffins, what is the oven temperature, and has anyone ever tried baking these in the microwave?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I made the batter last night and baked some up this morning. The batter looked really good. The All Bran soaked up the liquid and became very moist. I used 1 cup of raisins and 1 cup of dried cranberries. Unfortunately, I was running short on time and decided to make both jumbo and regular sized muffins at the same time. I took the regular ones out after about 19 minutes and they looked ok, but I didn't taste one yet. I had to leave the jumbo ones in for a while longer (while I was in the shower) and when the buzzer rang, they looked a little overdone. Sure enough, now that I'm at work and eating one, the underside of the top is a little darker than it should be and it tastes overcooked. So I'm guessing my 6 jumbo muffins are basically a waste. I will try the smaller ones when I go home for lunch. I will probably make these again, but with some alterations. Maybe add some banana puree and/or applesauce to add some more interest to the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
These are great! I do not add the raisins becuase I don't like them and any kind of juice can be subed in. I make these every few fews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squirrel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perham, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hawley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
These taste really good - and I'm not even one of those "health nuts" who likes everything with the word "bran" in it. These will be enjoyed by people who enjoy natural sweet flavors rather than refined sugar. I used chunky applesauce instead of oil. The texture is substantial without being tough or heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2009
I love this recipe. My husband even liked the muffins too! I did add 1/2 cup of dried apples and 1/2 cup of dried cranberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
Yummy with no change to instructions. Used Bob's Red Mill Wheat Bran to avoid unwanted ingredients in processed cereals. Children not big fans. Will try with orange juice instead of pinapple next time and add orange zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States