Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
My older son and the neighbors thought it was a good recipe, moist and flavorful! Others always seemed dry and bland. This one is very good. Yes, it does make alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This is by far the best bran muffin recipe I've tried. I was looking for a muffin recipe to duplicate the ones I bought from the Vons bakery, because I like those the best. This is it - only better! It does have lots of raisins, so the second time I made them I cut the raisins in half and used 1 cup of pineapple tidbits with the raisins. It was good that way too. I think next time I make them I'll only use 1 cup of raisins instead. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Palmdale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
The best I ever had; make & freeze
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
I've been using this recipe for several years and just now remembered to review it. :o) It is the BEST bran muffin recipe I've ever tried. I did make some changes, as it looks like most everyone else did too. I use apple juice and chopped apples instead of the pineapple juice and raisins originally called for. I also add 1 tsp cinnamon and a dash of cloves to the flour mixture. I had a problem with the cereal retaining some of the flour and having white clumps on it, so I mix the cereal in separately - after the flour mixture has been incorporated with the wet ingredients. You need to use bran FLAKES - I buy the store brand that says 100% whole bran flakes and it works great. I've also subbed applesauce for the oil, and the only difference noted was they didn't rise quite as much. I use olive oil if I leave the oil in, and it doesn't taste olive-y after it's cooked. I've also made them with pineapple juice and chopped pineapple, and it's excellent that way also. The batter is very thin initially, but I let it sit overnight and it's perfect in the morning. I use an ice cream scoop to measure into the muffin tins. I normally make a double batch of muffins and freeze them. Thank you so much for an awesome recipe! Definitely FIVE STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FAMILYJEANS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
These were good! My two toddlers & 5 yr old love them, and my husband & I enjoyed them also. This seems to be such a versatile recipe. I used about 3 cups of bran flake cereal (though the recipe says shredded bran), and then added about a cup's worth of miller's bran and some wheat germ. I used 1/4 cup applesauce and 1/4 cup canola oil. I only had 1 cup of pineapple juice, so I used some pear juice for the rest. I didn't use all the brown sugar--only a 1/2 cup. I used half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose flour. I added some dried blueberries instead of raisins, and those really boosted the appeal of the muffins. I let my batter sit overnight and it was very thick in the morning, so I added some water & juice as another reviewer did. Even with all these changes, they still turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarahBcooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I gave this a five star with some added changes. I left out the oil and added one individual serving pack of applesauce. Left out the sugar and increased honey to 3/4 cups and used whole wheat flour,added 3 T. flax seed oil and dried blueberries. Used All Bran cereal and let the mixture sit in frig. for five hours. Added some water to thin out batter. After all of this, I ate two when they came out of the oven with some promise spead. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kim w

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I agree with everyone else, that these are the best! The flavor is wonderful and they are very moist and rich. I used 2 cups shredded carrot instead of raisins and added 3 teaspoons cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. cloves and they were soooo good for a healthy, fast breakfast and good lunchbox food. Also, I didn't know which bran cereal to use so I just used plain bran flakes and had no problems at all. Thanks for the great recipe, I will be making these a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
Great muffins, I too made changes. I used un filtered pure apple juice instead of grapefruit juice, added cinnamon, added walnuts, dried creanberries and apricots, used more honey and no brown sugar, whole wheat flour, and they turned out great:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amanda123ns

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Finally, a bran muffin recipe my hubby and I agree on! He tends to like very traditional bran muffins which to me, often seem dry. The banana in these really helped keep these moist.I used 1/2 sugar and 1/2 Splenda and they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I don't personally eat these, but I make them all the time for my husband who absolutely loves them (and that's saying a lot because he's very fussy). I like that the batter can be mixed up the night before and all I have to do is pop them in the oven in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parlin, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bear, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States