Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This recipe is no joke FABULOUS!!!! I put a little honey in bottom of cups and on top of batter before baking. I also used 1 cup of dried pineapple instead of raisins. they dont look that great but they taste great. Very close to Mimis cafe honey bran muffins. Just what I was looking for! Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
This was the first bran muffin I have made that my husband would even look at let alone eat!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I must not have been doing something right, because I changed a few things and the muffins turned out a little dry and not very sweet - only 2 yolks, 5 whites, 1 1/2 cup shredded carrots, low-sugar apple juice instead of pineapple, a combo of golden/regular raisins and cranberries, wheat flour... However, they were still good, especially warm with a little butter. So, if you want decent health-nut muffins, then change away, but for really delicious muffins, stick with the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Awesome recipe! You can really taste the pineapple juice. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
I tried these muffins having great expectations after reading all the reviews, but didn't think they were that stellar. The muffins were a little dry and not very sweet. I had even added some craisins, apple butter, and cinnamon to give them more flavor but they were still bland. They were better warmed with a little butter, but I plan to try another bran muffin recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
These are great. I was so confused as to what type of bran to use, that I used a combination of 3 different types. One cup oat bran, one cup Fiber One (kind of like All Bran - the sesame noodle looking cereal) and 2 cups of crushed up Bran Flakes. They turned out great and the texture is amazing. Not dry at all. I also used one of the chopped dried fruit medleys with pineapple, papaya and mango instead of raisins...mmm, mmm good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deidrea
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
These muffins were very moist and so delicious! I did make a few changes: I used bran flakes and I reduced the raisins to 1 1/2 c. and added 1/2 c. of dried mixed fruit, consisting of pineapple and papaya pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deidrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
used oat bran (like oatmeal). A bit of texture, but delicious. Add 2 c choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
Awesome muffins... I received MANY compliments from my mom's Bible study group this morning. Used apple juice, half canola oil/olive oil (ran out), and added 1 cup shredded carrots. Recipe made 2 dozen muffins. Will make again...next time I will follow the recipe exactly as I bet the results will be the same (but I didn't have any pineapple juice in the house.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
This is a great recipe. It was definitely better when I left it chill in the fridge overnight. I used craisins and regular raisins in place of the golden raisins. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States