Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This is a good recipe, but I did make a few changes. I used spelt flour instead of all purpose flour. I also used Grade B maple syrup instead of honey and maple sugar instead of brown sugar. Since I am not a raisin fanatic, I used 1/2 the amount. They turned out really well. My husband hates bran muffins, but he loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
These muffins are fantastic!! They have become a favorite in our house. Very moist and flavorful. Dried apricots work well in this muffin too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Very good. I also increased the amount of honey to 1 cup, "plumped" up the raisins and pureed them. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Chilling the mix overnight was well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
I was inspired to make some honey bran muffins after just eating a Mimi's Cafe one which was Fantastic! So I did a web search & came up with this recipe. These are disappointing compared to Mimi's! Not as moist and not as sweet. I do live at 6000 ft so that may be the moisture problem! Addendum to my review above on 4/6/03 I tried reducing the oven temp to 375F and doubling (maybe a little more) the amount of honey. What a difference! They are now outstanding! Tony Colorado
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Very good! These muffins are moister than most made with bran. The honey and fruit juice really make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Very good muffins. Bran is really an aquired taste, I have a feeling the more I eat these, the more I will like them. The recipe makes ALOT of muffins however, and you can't really eat very many because they are quite filling, so make sure you have some bran enthusiasts around to eat all these, or cut the recipe. I have been eating them for breakfast this week- a good source of fiber, folate, and iron. Thanks for the recipe! I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
These are great! I made them originally for my daughter but she hasn't taken to them yet (she's only 18 months!) but my husband and I love them! Instead of adding the raisins whole, I soaked them in boiling water to plump them up and then pureed them in the food processor. This gives them the taste of raisins without the raisins themselves...which my daughter tends to pick out. Very moist...most yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2003
Great recipe! I used whole wheat flour instead of enriched and used fruit juice and extra honey instead of brown sugar and also added nuts and blueberries--and they are awesome! Very moist and tasty! Best bran muffins ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
WOW, this was a GREAT muffin. I, too, am not a big fan of bran muffins. I substituted one cup of grape nuts cereal for one cup of the bran cereal and didn't have quite enough pineapple juice so I used some plain water. Also only had the dark raisins. Even those who don't like raisins couldn't even tell they were in there! The muffins are so moist, not at all heavy, and quite delicious!!! Healthy enough to eat as breakfast but sweet enough for a dessert treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States