Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This is THE BEST recipe, but I don't generally have pineapple juice or golden raisins on hand, so I substituted a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple and regular raisins for these. I cut the honey to 1/4 cup and I used regular raisin bran. I didn't bother with the "3-hour chill", I just baked them as soon as I was done mixing. The ingredient changes probably destroyed the original calorie count, but the muffins came out WONDERFUL! Even people who don't normally like bran muffins LOVED these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Wonderful and tastey recipe. The amount of sugur used in this recipe seemed a little much but with the amount of muffins you can make, it isn't too much. Suggestion - make the larger muffins as the smaller muffins can burn easily. Great overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This is a good recipe, but I did make a few changes. I used spelt flour instead of all purpose flour. I also used Grade B maple syrup instead of honey and maple sugar instead of brown sugar. Since I am not a raisin fanatic, I used 1/2 the amount. They turned out really well. My husband hates bran muffins, but he loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2003
These muffins are fantastic!! They have become a favorite in our house. Very moist and flavorful. Dried apricots work well in this muffin too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
Very good. I also increased the amount of honey to 1 cup, "plumped" up the raisins and pureed them. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dekalb, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sycamore, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2003
Chilling the mix overnight was well worth the wait.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
I was inspired to make some honey bran muffins after just eating a Mimi's Cafe one which was Fantastic! So I did a web search & came up with this recipe. These are disappointing compared to Mimi's! Not as moist and not as sweet. I do live at 6000 ft so that may be the moisture problem! Addendum to my review above on 4/6/03 I tried reducing the oven temp to 375F and doubling (maybe a little more) the amount of honey. What a difference! They are now outstanding! Tony Colorado
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2003
Very good! These muffins are moister than most made with bran. The honey and fruit juice really make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Very good muffins. Bran is really an aquired taste, I have a feeling the more I eat these, the more I will like them. The recipe makes ALOT of muffins however, and you can't really eat very many because they are quite filling, so make sure you have some bran enthusiasts around to eat all these, or cut the recipe. I have been eating them for breakfast this week- a good source of fiber, folate, and iron. Thanks for the recipe! I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
These are great! I made them originally for my daughter but she hasn't taken to them yet (she's only 18 months!) but my husband and I love them! Instead of adding the raisins whole, I soaked them in boiling water to plump them up and then pureed them in the food processor. This gives them the taste of raisins without the raisins themselves...which my daughter tends to pick out. Very moist...most yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States