Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2005
These are really good and the recipe is very forgiving w/ substitutions! I used orange juice instead of pineapple juice. Also try with mixture of craisins, raisins, walnuts & dried apple. Have also added 1 pouch of Quaker flavored oatmeal supreme when I fell a bit short on the bran cereal (I generally use crushed Total Raisin Bran because we eat as cereal). Very moist muffins!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2004
these are sooooo good! I made only half the recipe as it made 14 regular size muffins and also used Post Raisin Bran cereal instead of whole bran cereal and cut the raisins to 1/2 cup. They are delicious and will be making them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2004
way too many raisins, i should have used half of what the recipe called for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHELSEAK3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
THIS RECIPE IS AMAZING. I added 1 cup of chunky applesauce and it was even better!! It is also perfectly fine to use water instead of pinapple juice (it does make the muffins less sweet). What else.....I like to add about 1/4 cup of Splenda to sweeten them up as well. ENJOY!! One last note, do not freeze the batter, it does not cook the muffins well afterwards. Instead, you can freeze the muffins and they stay well for a long time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2004
These are very moist for bran muffins,The family loved them and I liked that you make them the night before and refridgerate overnight, so that when I get up in the morning, give the batter a quick stir, and its ready to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2004
I've used this recipe several times now and I have found that it is very versatile. I've used whole wheat flour in place of the white flour and used water in place of the pineapple juice with great results. Thanks for a great healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clifton Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
These were great muffins! They are really moist and the flavorful. We found that for two of us, the recipe made way too many. I would recommend making half a batch. We froze half of them, but still couldn't eat them all before they got stale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
This is THE BEST recipe, but I don't generally have pineapple juice or golden raisins on hand, so I substituted a 20 oz can of crushed pineapple and regular raisins for these. I cut the honey to 1/4 cup and I used regular raisin bran. I didn't bother with the "3-hour chill", I just baked them as soon as I was done mixing. The ingredient changes probably destroyed the original calorie count, but the muffins came out WONDERFUL! Even people who don't normally like bran muffins LOVED these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2003
Wonderful and tastey recipe. The amount of sugur used in this recipe seemed a little much but with the amount of muffins you can make, it isn't too much. Suggestion - make the larger muffins as the smaller muffins can burn easily. Great overall!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This is a good recipe, but I did make a few changes. I used spelt flour instead of all purpose flour. I also used Grade B maple syrup instead of honey and maple sugar instead of brown sugar. Since I am not a raisin fanatic, I used 1/2 the amount. They turned out really well. My husband hates bran muffins, but he loved these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebony

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Morning Glory Muffins I

Make a morning muffin that’s loaded with good stuff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States