Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This recipe is great. I followed the recipe with a few substitutes. I used apple juice instead of pineapple juice, whole wheat flour instead of allpurpose and I used Raisin Bran Cereal. With the cereal, I separated the raisin from the bran flakes then followed the recipe accordingly. These are great in the jumbo muffin pans. When I took them out of the oven to cool I smothered the tops with honey. In the morning at room temp they were nicely moist with honey. Great with a cup of joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I baked these again, using a bit of lemon juice + water (did not have enough pineapple juice). They were flat the first time, so I increased the baking soda by 1.5, let the bran mix sit overnight, and beat in the flour + soda immediately before baking. This time they were moist AND tall & fluffy. Very forgiving recipe; don't worry about overbeating/overcooking, the gluten won't overdevelop thanks to the bran and the muffins don't get overcooked easily. Honey really goes well with bran, and the sour juice 'lightened' the taste up and gave a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
These were wonderful. I was dubious when I mixed them up because the batter looked too thin, but it was perfect after the night in the fridge. I used apple juice instead of pineapple and the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
This is a keeper. I had to make a few changes based on what I had on hand. I used apple cider instead of the pineapple juice and i used stone ground whole wheat flour instead of all purpose. After I let the mixture sit for the required 3 hours i had to add more apple cider because th ewhole wheat flour is more dense. These turned out with just the right moistness and flavour. i made jumbo muffins and the recipe yielded 20 muffins. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mollycurls77

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgewater, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2006
This is an amazing recipe! The muffins are not too sweet or dry -like some recipes. I omitted the rasins and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
This is the best Bran Muffin recipe I've found so far. I favor apple juice, little or no raisins and the muffins are moist. A++
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThornsandRoses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
This is a great recipe!I've been looking for a good muffin recipe for a long time and i found it. Thank you June M.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This recipe is awesome, I did some variations; I used apple juice, regular sugar instead of brown sugar, and raisin bran cereal. They were very moisted and rich, delicious!! thanks for sharing!! I love this web site!! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
Very good! They have a tendency to be a tad crumbly whenever I make them. But the taste is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Habra, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
Made these for the in-laws, they loved them. would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States