Honey Bran Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
WOW!!! These are the best bran muffins I've ever made... or ever had!!! I was really afriad of how they would turn out because I live in Colorado and so far all of my baked goods have turned out aweful! Luckily I read online that if you add ten degrees to the oven temp, and shorten the cooking time, the baked goods will come out fine! So I baked them at 410 for 20 minutes in a regular sized silicon muffin pan. I didn't have raisins but I'm sure they would have turned out even better with them... I used apple juice instead of pineapple juice... But they are awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salvador, Bahia, Brazil

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
Outstanding. Easy to make though I'm still awaiting the chief critic's comments. HER'S overules all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tim Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perrysburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2007
These turned out wonderfully, even and especially for bran muffins! I substituted one cup wheat flour and one cup white flour, and 1/4 applesauce and 1/4 oil, and I used black raisins because it's what I had on hand and even with the deviations, they came out wonderful. They're moist and flavorful, and compared to other bran muffins, are very light. I made these because I'm trying to discipline myself to eat better. Suffice it to say, I'm usually the last to reach for a bran muffin. But even I have enjoyed these heartily and it's no chore at all to enjoy one for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSJEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newbury Park, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These are fabulous muffins! Definately worth the wait! I have never used the raisins, however. I snip apricots into bite-sized pieces and drown them in the pineapple juice. Very tasty! I also made a variation of this recipe to make apple cinnamon muffins--I substituted apple juice for the pineapple, apple sauce for the oil and added 2t of cinnamon and 1/2 t each of ginger and allspice (nutmeg if you prefer). It was very tasty too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by (ME)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
These are delicious, if a bit sweet for my taste. I will definitely make these again, but with a little less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WorkAndPlay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands
Living In: Ljubljana, Gorenjska, Slovenia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
This was my first time making "non box" muffins. I enjoyed making them however they didnt come out as fluffy as most muffins I buy in the stores? I will try and let the batter sit a few more days to see if the bran gets broken down more and they become more fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
Wow these were great! I made a few changes: I used whole wheat flour instead of regular. I also substitued 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce for the oil. I cut the honey down to 1/4 cup. And I used eggbeaters as previously suggested! I used All-Bran cereal. And I did use pineapple juice because I happened to have some on hand - I love what pinapple juice does for these muffins! Just great! I made half the muffins after the batter chilled for 3 hours and only had to bake them 15 minutes before they were done. I will make the rest of them tomorrow and see if they can possibly be any better(I doubt it)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rockin*army*wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Creston, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
This recipe is great. I followed the recipe with a few substitutes. I used apple juice instead of pineapple juice, whole wheat flour instead of allpurpose and I used Raisin Bran Cereal. With the cereal, I separated the raisin from the bran flakes then followed the recipe accordingly. These are great in the jumbo muffin pans. When I took them out of the oven to cool I smothered the tops with honey. In the morning at room temp they were nicely moist with honey. Great with a cup of joe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I baked these again, using a bit of lemon juice + water (did not have enough pineapple juice). They were flat the first time, so I increased the baking soda by 1.5, let the bran mix sit overnight, and beat in the flour + soda immediately before baking. This time they were moist AND tall & fluffy. Very forgiving recipe; don't worry about overbeating/overcooking, the gluten won't overdevelop thanks to the bran and the muffins don't get overcooked easily. Honey really goes well with bran, and the sour juice 'lightened' the taste up and gave a nice flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
These were wonderful. I was dubious when I mixed them up because the batter looked too thin, but it was perfect after the night in the fridge. I used apple juice instead of pineapple and the taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Classic Bran Muffins

These muffins are full of fiber, yet are also moist and very tasty.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States