Honey Barbecue Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Wow, this was great! I've never made my own barbecue sauce and for some reason, my fussy family was very skeptical of me making it instead of using store bought (makes no sense to me either!). I omitted a few things I didn't have or want to buy (molasses, meat tenderizer and ground ginger). Otherwise, stayed as is and wow, everyone was impressed!! It was a total hit!! I will be making this again for sure! I'll probably make it ahead when we go camping so we can grill outside or make barbecue, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenniferRT66

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
made this and used it to baste chicken breasts. It wasn't the sweetness itself that bothered me--I like very, very sweet bbq sauces--but rather a lack of complexity other than that slightly tangy sweetness. I thought either a spiciness or a smokiness would have complemented it beautifully but without either it just tasted rather bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
Found I didn't have barbecue on hand so I made this recipe. Amazingly I had all the ingredients. Delicious! I have a new barbecue sauce!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Loved it! I did cut the honey a bit and the brown sugar in half. I was out of steak sauce so I doubled the Worcestershire. I add red pepper flakes as others have said. Excellent results, sweet but not too much, a bit spicy...the mustard comes through...It's a keeper for me! I used it on ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
This has been my "go to" recipe when I need a sweet, Carolina style BBQ sauce since I first came across it. It is excellent for pork and chicken. Beef...not so much. I modify the original recipe by increasing the the ketchup to 3/4 cup, add 1/4 cup cider vineger to offset some of the sweetness (this sauce is quite sweet), add 1 tsp each of onion and garlic powder to add a little more punch. Also, try substituting buckwheat honey for the molasses and add chili pepper flakes for some kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
I love sweet bbq, but this was waaay too sweet. I cut the honey in half and it was still too sweet. I ended up adding tomato paste and vinegar with a little smoke. It helped, but this tasted more like a brown sugar bbq than honey bbq. Just my opinion. Next time If I try this again, I will cut the brown sugar amounts way down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
OMG This is the best BBQ sauce EVER!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Windsor, New York, USA
Living In: Londonderry, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
Threw this sauce together for my slow cooker pulled meat chicken. I skipped the meat tenderizer. By my taste test of the sauce, I give it 2 thumbs up! My leftover sauce will go on burgers tomorrow :-p
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Excellent! Just made this and my two-year old won't quit dipping for a taste! We're having pulled chicken tonight and this is the sauce I made to go with it...Yum! I followed Kimberly D's suggestion to change ketchup to 1 cup and brown sugar to 3/4 cup. ThAnX for a yummy BBQ sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I didn't have the molasses, but fortunately I saw the review with the creator saying that they no longer used the molasses, so I tried creating this recipe with what I had and by throwing in a little bit (perhaps 1/8th of a teaspoon? I'm more of a pinch and toss person than an exact measurement type of girl) of onion powder and bam, it was some of the most delicious barbecue sauce I'd ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Loogootee, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Secret BBQ Sauce

The secret’s out! Here’s the recipe for our classic barbeque sauce—revealed!

Kathy's Award Winning Barbeque Sauce

See how to make thick, spicy, blue-ribbon BBQ sauce.

Bar-B-Que Sauce

The perfect BBQ sauce recipe, ready to make right at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States