Honey Baked Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by pjstoneson
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Turned out great! I used just drumsticks and had more chicken than the recipe called for, so I doubled everything except the butter and salt. Left the butter the same because of other comments, and the salt because I have to watch my sodium. Thinking I'll try that glaze/sauce recipe with some pork chops, pork loin, or some ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Very tasty. On the recommendation of others I used only 1/4 cup butter (half the amount recommended) and 2 tsp curry powder (twice as much). Next time I will use even less butter as others have done, since the chicken fat is plenty (unless you take the skin off the chicken). I cooked this for 30 minutes covered with foil and then 45 minutes more basting a couple of times. Overall, great place to start experimenting...honey, mustard, curry powder and butter is a great base! Wonder if this would be even better with some crunchy celery or peppers....??? Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Absolutely Fantastic!!!! Not only is this a simple and easy meal with limited ingredients, it is so good I will be making another batch tomorrow as there were no leftovers! As per other comments, I doubled the sauce, used half the amount of butter and added 3 cloves of minced garlic. I scored the chicken and marinated it in the sauce for 2 hours. This is definitely a keeper and will be made on a regular basis!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anneliese
Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Yum!! Used 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts because that's what I had on hand. Added a dash of cayanne and reduced butter to 2tbs. I might eliminate completely next time. Sliced 1/2 a med onion into rings and layed under chicken. Marinated in fridge for 4 hours prior to baking. This came out so moist and delicious! Served over basamati rice with broccoli and carrots. Can't wait to eat the leftovers for dinner tonight!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Liberty Center, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Not a 5 star to me because the sauce lacks interest. I made it as directed but didn't find much excitement there- perhaps more curry as others have suggested would have been better. I used boneless skinless chicken thighs and that was a BIG disappointment both in looks and texture (didn't affect my rating though). I think the dish will be best if you use a whole chicken, skin and all, for a nice presentation and good mouth appeal. And that's what the original poster intended!!! The sauce was watery there at the last, but I drained it off, separated most of the grease, and then boiled it to thicken it. When I poured the sauce over the chicken once more, it made a nice glaze that stayed on well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Being a single dude cooking with a toaster oven, I always need to pare down these recipes. I used a 4 pack of chicken thighs and eyeballed the measurements to equal about 1/2 of what was originally called for. I think I used a little too much honey, and not quite enough curry, but it was still very flavorful. I will try again and make the adjustments, as I really wanted that curry flavor to be more present. But it's very easy, and definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
We enjoyed this. I halved the mustard, honey and butter and had enough sauce to baste three thighs and a drumstick. The glaze is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: The Villages, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly with the exception that I used skinless chicken breasts instead of a whole chicken so I only needed to bake them for 45 minutes. It was WONDERFUL!!!! So flavorful. We loved it and will definitely make it again. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Big hit!!!!! Even my 7 year old loved it!!! Would make this again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
For some reason I never buy Curry but I have TWO bottles of Garam Marsala, and I use that in its place, and it is always good. Great meal, everyone enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky1234

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,508) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States