Honey Baked Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I've made this recipe as written a few times and it is great!!! As with most recipes that I love, once I am comfortable with the dish I like to tweak it a bit to make it my own. Here are the changes that I have made and found to be wonderful... 1. I use chicken breast, parboiled in chicken broth or sauteed in butter (depending on my mood) then drained. This prevents the flavor and consistency of the sauce from being diluted by the chicken juices. 2. Mix together 1/2 cup of melted butter, just under 1/2 cup of honey, and just under 1/4 cup of mustard. 2 tsp curry powder (as others have suggested) 1/2 tsp garam masala, 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper and 1/2 tsp salt. 3. Pour the mixture over the chicken in a casserole dish, cover and bake 10-15 min til sauce gets nice and sticky. 4. Spoon over rice and top with crushed walnuts and dried cranberries. ***I recently served this with butternut squash sauteed in butter and sprinkled with brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I read the reviews first (ofcourse)and cut the butter and salt by half. Everything else I kept the same. I used (4)bone-in chicken quarters,so I baked it 30 minutes covered with foil and 40 minutes uncovered, basting every 15 minutes. I checked it with a meat thermometer and it was very done by then. The skin was nicely carmelized and the chicken was moist. My son raved about how much he loved it. I will make it again and use boneless breast just to see how that works. I covered the pan with aluminum foil for easy clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hapygrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I cut the butter in half and it was Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
My husband loved it. I did not make any changes except to cut the butter in half and I used chicken breasts. Thanks for the delicious recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This was very very tasty...However...I bit too greasy..and the cleanup in the pan was terrible...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Hudson, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
so easy and i followed it exactly as it is; used 4 chicken breasts instead of the whole chicken. Definitely making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lcisnero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was really good, I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LUCKEY_T2004
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
It was great, the only thing is I wanted those flavors to be in the chicken also. Maybe should marinate the chicken overnight. My pieces of leg quarter so I just used more and added few more spices. I loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKEY_T2004

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This was very good and will definitely make again. I used boneless, skinless chicken thighs and increased the curry to 1 1/2 tsp. Otherwise everything else was the same. Would be very good on tenderloin too! Going to try that next! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I used dark meat chicken strips....so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 131-140 (of 1,476) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Baked Garlic Parmesan Chicken

See how to make an easy weeknight chicken dish that's a 5-star favorite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States