Honey Baked Chicken I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I just made this and it is delicious! I decided to forgo the dry ingredient measurements and just eyeball the amounts but I used the exact measurements for the honey and margarine. I also substituted light corn syrup for the honey, because I didn't have any (and my father is allergic to bee products). I forgot to grease the pan, but it didn't stick due to the drippings, etc. At first I thought I'd added too much garlic because of the smell emanating out of my oven but it turned out delicious! I used leg quarters for this recipe. Some said it was bland, and yes, compared to some chicken recipes it is, but the natural flavor of the chicken really came out and it's incredibly easy to make, so it has its redeeming qualities. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skattleyatches

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Was tasty! Not over bearing - but good, my chicken was moist and had a good flavor. I changed and addded minced Garlic instead of the powder. I also added red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sullysmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
We did not like this recipe at all. I made it exactly according to the directions & it was bland. The only thing good I can say about it is the chicken was juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I have to be honest, I did not like this recipe at all. I even added extra honey, excited for the sweet/savory mix, and tasted none of the sweetness. My husband and I were very disappointed, it was just a very bland dish. The smell from the oven while it is cooking is deceiving, because it smells amazing, but the flavor isn't there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
I followed the recipe exactly, and even added more honey than was called for, but it was very bland. Hubby and I ended up dipping the chicken in honey as we ate it. It looked better than it tasted, I probably won't be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This chicken was delicious!!! I used a whole chicken and didn't cut it up...because i was too lazy. i used real pressed garlic in place of powder and followed the rest of the recipe as written..It was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I found this recipe 2 months ago and have made it 3 or 4 times already. I had never butchered a chicken before so I googled how to butcher a chicken and made it the first time and it was so yummy. I double the ingredients for the sauce and use garlic salt instead of salt and garlic separately. A home run in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NMBELLO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
The family loved this! I did add a little more honey though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurelinn

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
First off, I always follow the recipe because I'm new at this BUT going forward I think I'm going to start taking other reviews into consideration. While the chicken was very moist all we could taste was butter. Next time I think I'm going to reduce the butter by half and add more honey. I might even top the chicken with honey after it's cooked (like someone else suggested). I just think it would have been nice to taste more than just butter. Maybe it will be better next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2009
I made this for dinner last night, and found the flavor lacking intensity. I added more of the dry seasonings than the recipe called for, but somehow, the garlic powder and pepper didn't come through. I did use the pan drippings to substitute the water in some Stove-Top stuffing, on a whim, and that was pretty tasty. The chicken was better cold, sliced for a sandwich, as I did today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Honey Baked Chicken II

Honey, mustard, and curry create a simple, sweet-and-savory baked chicken.

Baked Honey Mustard Chicken

See how to make the perfect weeknight chicken recipe.

Baked Apricot Chicken

Quick and easy baked chicken recipe with only four ingredients.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States