Honey Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
so simple and so delicious. my teenagers just love these! i add 1 teaspoon of vanilla to the water mixture and sprinkle each apple with a dash of cinnamon. we top them with whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hastings, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawn
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
These were so easy to make and absolutely delicious! My family has asked me to make these again soon! The only addition I made was to sprinkle cinnamon to the tops before baking. Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pulaski, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
This isa great recipe! I used rasberries instead of cranberries (they are more easily available) and they came out great! I also added some cinammon as recommended by other reviews, and that was a great touch. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
My family loved this! I couldn't find cranberries so I used rasberries. I think if I do that in the future, I may wait until 1/2 the baking time is over to add them in. We did add a tsp. of vanilla and sprinkled cinnamon on top, but this was definately a winner. I cannot wait until cranberries are in season to try it with that!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I don't know if I'm just too dumb for this recipe or what... I read somewhere that if you plan to reheat baked apples you shouldn't cook them the full time or they'll be disgustingly mushy. SO I cooked these for about 45-50 mins. They looked great. I heated one up in the microwave and it was wierd... The skin refused to come off or be cut and I ended up stabbing the thing with a grapefruit spoon and biting it like that. The taste was great, but it was really messy and dumb looking the way we had to eat it. It's probably my fault, but I don't know what the dea was...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
GREAT RECIPE THE ONLY ADDITION I MADE WAS TO ADD APPLE JUICE INSTEAD OF WATER ON THE BOTTOM AND TO SPRINKLE WITH CINNAMON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
These were absolutely DELISH! The cranberries really made a difference in this recipe. You must use cranberries to have the tart and sweet mixture...divine dessert after a scrumtious steak dinner with friends. I too followed other's recommendation and sprinkled cinnamon on top before baking the apples.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I made this for me and my roommate and it was a huge success. I used cinnamon and a few drops of vanilla as suggested before baking and just a little bit of vanilla ice cream. The mingling of the flavors was extraordinary, I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I am not sure if I did something wrong, but my apples blew up in the oven (!) leaving me with very unattractive piles of applesauce. I used Cortland apples instead of green (none at the store) and re-hydrated dried cranberries (fresh were not at the store either.) I re-hydrated them by boiling the dried cranberries in lemon juice and just a touch of orange juice and spiced rum before stuffing them in the cored apples. I didn't peel the top third of the apples (because the picture didn't show that, but I realize now the photo was submitted by someone else.) I just wasn't happy with the end flavor (besides the blowing up part), just too sweet, but perhaps it just lacked the tartness of the fresh cranberries. I don't plan to try this one again, but it could be due to my unfortunately necessary alterations (I was making this for a specific holiday dish or else I would have just made something else.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by betabear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is the only cinnamon-free baked apples recipe I could find (one of my friends has an allergy) and I am so glad I used it! I followed the recipe exactly, except I did add a dash of vanilla to the water as previously suggested. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Southern Fried Apples

This sweet treat is great for breakfast, dessert, or even as a side with meats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States