Honey Baked Apples Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Simple and delicious. A couple tips - remove more than just the core, make something more like a 3/4" hole so you have more room for stuffing them with cranberries! Also, don't skip the step for removing the top third of the peel, I forgot it and my apples sort of exploded out of their skins. They looked funny but tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I was making this after a long day of baking other things and it was getting late, so I did the sauce up in the microwave. It turned into a thin caramelly liquid, which I doubt would have happened if I had followed the dirrections. We didn't have apples, so I used pear halves and put them face down in the juices and bastes their backs with the juices. I didn't have cranberries or raspberries either, so I left them plain and served with vanilla ice cream with cinnamon sugar sprinkled on top. Nothing like the original recipe, but it was really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
Very good, but I did do a few modifications. First of all I mixed raspberries and cranberries, I also added a bit of clove and cinnamon, and last just a little chopped walnuts. Was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2009
Very nice in taste and appearance -- I prepared exactly as recommended. Because of the basting required, my apples probably could have used another 15 minutes for easier cutting through with just a fork or spoon. Beautiful dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef4Six
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Very good! I topped it with "Fruit Crisp Topping Mix" from this site! It definitely had the "wow" factor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef4Six

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monsey, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I added blackberries instead b/c I had no cranberries. I also did not have ice cream so added a smear of cream cheese on top. AMAZING! I love how easily adjustable this recipe is....make 1 or many!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
We loved these. I had read another review that suggested using apple juice instead of the water. I didn't have any apple juice, but I did have more than enough orange juice so I used that. They turned out so delicious! Mine fell apart during the last 15 minutes. I read others saying that they "exploded". A friend of mine said it would be normal for them to collapse like they did for me, but suggested if I wanted to them to sit up pretty (like in the pictures) to maybe take them out after 45 minutes. Regardless, these were absolutely yummolicious, and will definitely be made again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was really tastey and easy to make! We didn't have much selection for a filler, so I tried Strawberries. I learned they don't bake well and loose all their color. I'm sure cranberries would be better, but either way it was still really yummy and everyone enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saralee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
First, I don't have an apple corer so that part was extremely difficult. If you don't have one, get one before attempting this!! Don't skimp on your cranberries, either... the ones I bought weren't very good. The apples, however, were VERY good and with the right utensils, this would have been incredibly easy. My family loved it as dessert for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Illinois, USA
Living In: Terre Haute, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This is the only cinnamon-free baked apples recipe I could find (one of my friends has an allergy) and I am so glad I used it! I followed the recipe exactly, except I did add a dash of vanilla to the water as previously suggested. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Apples

See how to make chewy, gooey caramel apples!

Baked Oatmeal II

This oatmeal is rich, delicious, and very open to your creative touches.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States