Honduran Quesadillas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
My boyfriend is from Honduras. Although he has never had this before he absolutely loved it!! I halved the recipe because there is only 2 of us. My only concern was the topping. Without any added butter to it.... The top if the cake had a bit of a white dusting to it. I'm assuming that the sugar sesame topping is suppose to be like a streusel. So next time I'm going to add some butter to it and see what happens. But even with that the taste was awesome so it still gets 5 stars!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Felicia Manocchio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boca Raton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
This is the best bread I have ever made!!! I can’t stay away from it! I made this yesterday for Christmas and have eaten half of it all by myself. I halved the recipe because there were only 3 of us. It turned out perfect! I will be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Crawford Durrence

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
I made mine in an 11x16 pan, and it still needed at least 45 minutes. It was very sweet and light, and a great treat for a service team headed to Honduras!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Monmouth, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My husband is from there and he was very impressed with my cake when I made it and it didn't last long he practically ate it for dinner. Although I did moisten it with a pinch more butter, bake in a 10-14 baking dish is essential, and I added cinnamin to the sugar on top, excellente
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daphne Crouch
Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I don't get it. I was looking forward too making this recipe for a long time as the pictures where beautiful and the ratings where all so positive. I followed the recipe exactly, but halved the quantities and it was way too sweet! Even my 4-yo daughter was taken aback by the sweetness and she could probably eat a bowl full of sugar and be happy. Not sure what went wrong with my recipes compared to the others, but 3 cups of sugar (or 1.5 in my case) just seems like way too much. It just tasted like very sweet corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
This is very good. Dont be fooled, its not a typical quesadilla; its more like a cake. It has a very nice flavor. Sweet but not too sweet. The cheese gives it a unique taste. I used a 14x10 (i measured it with a tape measurer so I could be off a bit LOL) glass dish and it fit PERFECTLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by VJOSIE
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
I was thrilled to find this recipe here, but it has some flaws. It doesn't specify what size pan to use and it was difficult to mix well when following the recipe. I used my standard 9x13 and it was far too much for the dish. It didn't cook right. I tried again, halving the recipe. I also modified the order for adding ingredients - I mixed the eggs into the butter/sugar. I combined the flours, cheese, and baking powder and mixed them in together, adding the milk last. It took 35 minutes to bake right. It was perfect. I uploaded pics. For fun, I used a biscuit-cutter to make pretty circles instead of cutting it into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJOSIE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Excellent recipe!!!.... Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by claudia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
My sister in law makes this bread all the time. It is wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
This is so good with a cup of coffee, I imagine that it would be nice served as a side to a savory dish as well. I prepared it in a removable bottom tart pan so it was very pretty to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Quesadillas

Make these kid-pleasing quesadillas in just minutes.

Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas

This Mexican favorite can be made easily for a quick weeknight dinner.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States