Hominy con Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
I love this dish and would give it 5 stars except for the fat and sodium content, but you can make it healthier by using a reduced fat and sodium cream of mushroom soup, and reduced fat Pepper Jack (admittedly hard to find), or 2% or part skim Mozarella cheese with some extra peppers added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This was so easy and very tasty. The whole family loved it. Great side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evillhog

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fortuna, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
Every time this dish is served it becomes the most food on my plate......I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
So good! The whole family loved it :) I did make it with mexican style shredded cheese instead of pepper jack to take down the spice cuz of my little one, but it was great! And so easy to make. A nice change from all the normal side dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Yum! Love this dish! A very easy and great side dish. One night I wanted to make this but was too lazy to come up with a main dish. My solution was to add some browned ground turkey seasoned with some taco seasoning. Since it was white hominy I had in the pantry, I added some frozen corn and wha-la! Double Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moondollie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Was looking for something to use up some hominy and came across this. I thought it was okay, a little plain. Very easy and quick to make though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This was so easy and delicious. Had it for lunch but it would be good as a side dish or with eggs for breakfast. I used cheddar instead of pepperjack, and cut it down to a pound. Worked out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
This was very good. A different way to fix Hominy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
I REALLY enjoyed this. It was a nice change for a side dish. The only thing that could make this 5 star would be the addition of some spice - we like heat!! Maybe a can if drained rotel or a few jalapenos ??? I will make this again soon and will try one if the above to see what that does for it... If you aren't a fan of spicy foods I bet you will enjoy this as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aubrey, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Hubby liked it but I was not so happy with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Pasta con le Sarde

See how to make simple pasta with sardines and fennel.

Easy Taco Casserole

Favorite taco ingredients turned into a baked casserole.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States